Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Had to make a healthy version, but I gave it five stars for being an excellent recipe with which to modify to healthy. I used 1/2 pound Italian-seasoned ground turkey, 6 slices turkey bacon, nearly tripled the amount of stock, and used skim milk instead of cream. It was really, super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved this soup, but should have read the reviews because there was way too much sausage (would have been a 5* with that adustment) and should have halfed it. Otherwise it was great and I used mild italian sausage b/c that's what I had on hand and will up the kale to 3 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I used 1 lb ground Italian sausage (browned), 2 tsp garlic, 5 medium red potatoes, 1 lb of bacon, 6 cups of chicken broth, 1 T. italian seasoning, 1 T. garlic powder, 1 T. onion powder, 2 tsp red pepper flakes, 2 cups of spinach, and 2 cups of half and half. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have never had this at Olive Garden but this was very good! Four stars only because I had to make some changes to make it a little healthier for me... I used Turkey Kielbasa sausage, a 3 bacon slices and no-fat half and half (I will forever be indebted to the reviewer who suggested that -- I had no idea no-fat half and half existed!!). I also threw in 1/2c of orzo when I added the potatoes (I actually used sweet potatoes since I like them better and their nutritional content is higher than normal ones) just because I wanted something a little extra in there. I found it a little bit too salty with the bouillon but I may just have to buy reduced fat bouillon. I also added a little pepper and cayenne pepper before eating, since I like things with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years and we always enjoy it. I use canned chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon and I find Jimmy Dean's hot sausage adds flavor and a little bite. Served with some fresh baked bread sticks you'll think you are at the Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good, I use water instead of chicken stock and half & half, its lower in fat and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is the best soup ever. It takes just like Olive Garden, but better because you make it yourself and get lots more. :O) Loved It !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
It was so easy to make and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I used chicken broth (6 cups) and had to substitute spinach for the kale since they were out at the grocery store. I also used crumbled spicy Italian sausage because we like a little heat. Yummo! Now I have to find a recipe for bread sticks & salad from this favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Love love love this soup. Just wonderful with some crusty bread for dipping. I did add more bacon to the soup and more kale. Have made many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie_Fishook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States