Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great! I substituted ground beef for sausage, no bacon and added spinach for kale and 2% milk at the end after mashing a few potatoes. Served it with Parmesan cheese and garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Inspired by this recipe. I changed the smoked sausage to Italian Mild, I replaced the Chicken Bouillon and water with Low Sodium Chicken Broth (about 42oz). I browned the Italian sausage in a dutch oven, removed them, drained the dutch oven, added some saved bacon grease, fried the onions for 3 minutes, and garlic for 60 seconds. I then added the broth and sausages. Brought it to a boil then added the potatoes. Let simmer for 45 minutes until the potatoes were done. Added the crumpled bacon, kale,and about 1/2 cup cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Neary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I love this soup, one of my favorites, have made it a few times. Cook time is longer than listed. Be careful not to cut potato too small as they will fall apart. Pre time includes cooking bacon. I prefer a spicy sausage instead of smoked, like andoille. I found recipe needed much more water and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Excellent. I added a few more potatoes, 1 cup water and 1T. Chicken bouillon, plus increased the heavy cream to 1cup. Mostly because I wanted a little more soup. This is amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I liked the Olive Garden version of this so gave it a try. I cut up and browned my sausage first, cheated and used packaged bacon bits (probably less than 6 slices' worth), and added more kale than actually called for, but it was GREAT! Even BETTER than OGs!Leftovers didn't last long enough! I'm thinking of making an extra-large batch next time and freezing some for easy lunches. Definite keeper, although I may try some of the other suggested tweaks later just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belle
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was absolutely amazing I loved it can't wait to do it again! My son & I did it together hes only 8 & enjoyed it so much! This is my fav soup at OG so to know that I can make this at home now means everything! Plus I had OG dressing to go with the salad so it was so on! Thank u whoever submitted this 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I do add more potatoes and brown the ground chicken sausage first. Rather than the heavy whipping cream the chef told me to add a quart of half and half instead. It's a wonderful filling soup, and so easy!!I make exactly the way the chef said and never tire of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I added more kale and a tad more cream, making it 1/2 c instead of 1/3. And I used hot italian sausage instead of the smoked type. It is so chock full of protein and fiber! Very filling with loads of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really love the flavor of this recipe. Very close to o@#!/gardens soup. Goes great with a crusty bread.had no problem serving just this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this soup 4 times! I have it 3 stars because I did not think that smoked sausage was a good fit for this recipe. I replaced the smoked sausage with bulk Italian sausage and once with spicy Italian turkey sausage and they were both delicious !! I also added more kale and broth to mine. It taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States