Zulandt's Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lrp35
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Seemed to me that the bread crumb topping made the dish too dry. I would leave that part out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Overall this turned out very good. Very inexpensive meal that makes A LOT (meaning several nights of leftovers). The only thing I didn't like is that it turned out a little drier than I liked, still edible but is there anything that can be done to moisten it up a little? I followed the directions exactly and it turned out pretty tasty. Just a tad on the dry side but nothing that would prevent me from making it again. :) I'm actually eating some of the leftovers for lunch as I type this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
i added 2 carrots, 4 celery, and 2 handfuls of frozen corn and still too light on the veggies in my opinion. next time i will double the veggies and add garlic and tomatoes as others suggested. i will probably add more cheese too with the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is my favorite recipe ever!! Lentils and rice are boring to many people, but to me this recipes meets all of my criteria: cheap, healthy and it tastes great! I do not add the zucchini and I use chicken bouillon instead of vegetable. Additionally, I add about 4 minced garlic cloves to the sauted onion and I some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes while the lentils are cooking. I also use italian seasoning instead of the oregano and add a little extra cumin. I also only add about half the amount of bread crumbs to the top. The cheese can be reduced to make it a healthier meal and it still tastes great! With these changes this recipes is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I thought this was pretty good but the rest of the family didn't really like it. Instead of the zucchini I used carrots and I cooked everything in a pressure cooker (about 10 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It was pretty bland. The second time I made it I tried doubling the spices, but it didn't seem to make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Warm hearty comfort food, nothing beats that. My only alterations were to add some carrots and celery and upped the zucchini. The only thing I will do next time is make a smaller batch, it really makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe. I don't think it needed the cheese at all, but it added a little bit of saltiness. I also don't think it needed to really be baked at all- but maybe that's just me. Everything was wonderful and smushy before I put it in the oven, but it was a little bit dry after baking. Next time I'll just throw it all together in a casserole dish and call it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I have made this a number of times now. It is, an many ways, a comfort food. Depending upon how healthy I want it to be, I adjust the amount of cheese and/or sometimes omit the breadcrumbs. Also, I play with the amount of spices and sometimes substitute other spices, such as basil instead of oregano, or I add a bit of curry powder to it. Yum! Also, I always use chicken stock rather than water and then omit the buillions, because I feel that it is easier to watch the amount of sodium that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Yum! I just made this and can't stop eating it. I don't know if there will be any left for dinner! It is a tasty casserole and I like the fact that it wasn't made with cream of something soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States