Zulandt's Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lrp35
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Seemed to me that the bread crumb topping made the dish too dry. I would leave that part out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Overall this turned out very good. Very inexpensive meal that makes A LOT (meaning several nights of leftovers). The only thing I didn't like is that it turned out a little drier than I liked, still edible but is there anything that can be done to moisten it up a little? I followed the directions exactly and it turned out pretty tasty. Just a tad on the dry side but nothing that would prevent me from making it again. :) I'm actually eating some of the leftovers for lunch as I type this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
i added 2 carrots, 4 celery, and 2 handfuls of frozen corn and still too light on the veggies in my opinion. next time i will double the veggies and add garlic and tomatoes as others suggested. i will probably add more cheese too with the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is my favorite recipe ever!! Lentils and rice are boring to many people, but to me this recipes meets all of my criteria: cheap, healthy and it tastes great! I do not add the zucchini and I use chicken bouillon instead of vegetable. Additionally, I add about 4 minced garlic cloves to the sauted onion and I some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes while the lentils are cooking. I also use italian seasoning instead of the oregano and add a little extra cumin. I also only add about half the amount of bread crumbs to the top. The cheese can be reduced to make it a healthier meal and it still tastes great! With these changes this recipes is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I thought this was pretty good but the rest of the family didn't really like it. Instead of the zucchini I used carrots and I cooked everything in a pressure cooker (about 10 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It was pretty bland. The second time I made it I tried doubling the spices, but it didn't seem to make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Warm hearty comfort food, nothing beats that. My only alterations were to add some carrots and celery and upped the zucchini. The only thing I will do next time is make a smaller batch, it really makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe. I don't think it needed the cheese at all, but it added a little bit of saltiness. I also don't think it needed to really be baked at all- but maybe that's just me. Everything was wonderful and smushy before I put it in the oven, but it was a little bit dry after baking. Next time I'll just throw it all together in a casserole dish and call it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I have made this a number of times now. It is, an many ways, a comfort food. Depending upon how healthy I want it to be, I adjust the amount of cheese and/or sometimes omit the breadcrumbs. Also, I play with the amount of spices and sometimes substitute other spices, such as basil instead of oregano, or I add a bit of curry powder to it. Yum! Also, I always use chicken stock rather than water and then omit the buillions, because I feel that it is easier to watch the amount of sodium that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Yum! I just made this and can't stop eating it. I don't know if there will be any left for dinner! It is a tasty casserole and I like the fact that it wasn't made with cream of something soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States