Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm ashamed to say this recipe didn't work out for me. And even more ashamed to say because of its popularity and great reviews I doubled the batch expecting to freeze and eat these for breakfast for weeks to come. I followed the recipe pretty closely but took the advice that worked for others. I squeezed excess moisture from zuchinni. I decreased the sugar and subbed honey. I also used dried cherries and walnuts instead. It seemed like everyone took their own variations and were pleased. Mine were bland and boring for everything that went into them. My mother's buttermilk bran and raisin muffins are much better and quicker to make. These seemed like a far cry from those. They were barely sweet and the texture was too dense. I realize I decreased the sugar too much but I was very careful to not over-work the batter which usually produces toughness. I used the suggestion of another and raised the oven temp for preheating and then lowered to the recipe's temp upon placing the muffins inside. This did produce a tall muffin but the bottoms began to blacken on me. On the second round I lowered the oven temp to 375 and this still occured. I know it sounds like this could be the tell-tale sign of an amateur baker but I assure you I'm not. This just wasn't for me. But I appreciate and applaud all those that were able to get great results. Don't let my review sway you against trying this out. Everyone's opinions and experiences are different. This was just mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Oh yum! I just had one fresh out the oven! Made just a few minor changes - didn't have oat flour, so ground some oatmeal in the food processor. I like dark brown sugar, so I did 1/2 white, 1/2 dark brown. Will definitely make again! Always looking for different ways to use up zucchini & get veggies in the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Lots of ingredients, but don't let that scare you. They really don't take very long to make, and they are delicious, and relatively healthy for a muffin. Couldn't find oat flour, so I used 3/4 cup all purpose flour and 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour. Great flavour and tender texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I thought these were great! Very moist. I cut out all the sugar and doubled the spices. I used oat bran instead of oat flour. I also used only almond flour to make them gluten free. My toddler loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These are SO great for getting veggies in kids. Yesterday I used one as leverage to get the picky one to eat the vegetable on his plate, unaware I was using vegetables, yogurt, and whole grains to bribe him. I get great reviews every time I make them. They really are best with golden raisins and nuts, but also good with neither. I use 0% fat greek yogurt and use 1/2 cup of sucanat or turbinado rather than sugar. They freeze well, and are nice as mini muffins. (I think I bake minis about 12 minutes.) GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is my kind of recipe! Chock full of healthy ingredients, they are also really delicious. I did add little flax seed meal and raisins, but gave them a whirl in my food processor (I also have a super-picky toddler who refuses textures). This recipe has many possibilities--next time I'll add some spinach leaves for even more nutrition. The texture is outstanding. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These muffins are good if you're looking for a healthy muffin recipe, but they're not my favorite overall. While very moist, the flavor could use some improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not sure what happened to mine! I didn't have carrots so I left them out and doubled the zucchini portion. No nuts, so didn't use them or raisins. Otherwise, followed exactly and even used homemade yogurt. I also used pumpkin pie spice since I did not have pure nutmeg. They rose nicely then fell as soon as I took them from the oven. After the first batch, I added another tsp of baking powder and a bit more flour along with some chocolate chips and VIOLA! Yummo. not sure I will make again given my issues with the first batch, but my kids are enjoying them even flattened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delish! I gave it 4 stars only bceause I made some changes based on previous reviews and on ingredients I had on hand. I halved the sugar, honey, oil and cinnamon, used shredded sweet potato instead of carrot, and used a combo of low fat milk, vanilla yogurt, and lowfat sour cream in place of the plain yogurt. I also added about 1/4 cup each of ground flax seed and wheat germ, and used whole oats instead of oat flour. Lastly, I baked for 17 minutes at 400. The result is a delicious, moist, healthy muffin that both my 3 year old and 1 year old gobbled down. And my husband and I loved them too. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious muffin! It should be known, that I always rate based on how well the recipe does being transformed to GLUTEN FREE! These held up pretty good considering. I did a lot of similar alterations like other users, less sugar, less honey, less yogourt, less oil, more applesauce, only zucchini, no carrots, etc. I think the only reason I couldn't rate them five stars is that they should NOT go in liners. They were very good, but not oily/fattening enough to come out of a liner. I will definitely make these again though, this time with greases tins instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States