Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These muffins are good if you're looking for a healthy muffin recipe, but they're not my favorite overall. While very moist, the flavor could use some improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not sure what happened to mine! I didn't have carrots so I left them out and doubled the zucchini portion. No nuts, so didn't use them or raisins. Otherwise, followed exactly and even used homemade yogurt. I also used pumpkin pie spice since I did not have pure nutmeg. They rose nicely then fell as soon as I took them from the oven. After the first batch, I added another tsp of baking powder and a bit more flour along with some chocolate chips and VIOLA! Yummo. not sure I will make again given my issues with the first batch, but my kids are enjoying them even flattened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delish! I gave it 4 stars only bceause I made some changes based on previous reviews and on ingredients I had on hand. I halved the sugar, honey, oil and cinnamon, used shredded sweet potato instead of carrot, and used a combo of low fat milk, vanilla yogurt, and lowfat sour cream in place of the plain yogurt. I also added about 1/4 cup each of ground flax seed and wheat germ, and used whole oats instead of oat flour. Lastly, I baked for 17 minutes at 400. The result is a delicious, moist, healthy muffin that both my 3 year old and 1 year old gobbled down. And my husband and I loved them too. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious muffin! It should be known, that I always rate based on how well the recipe does being transformed to GLUTEN FREE! These held up pretty good considering. I did a lot of similar alterations like other users, less sugar, less honey, less yogourt, less oil, more applesauce, only zucchini, no carrots, etc. I think the only reason I couldn't rate them five stars is that they should NOT go in liners. They were very good, but not oily/fattening enough to come out of a liner. I will definitely make these again though, this time with greases tins instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I cut out the sugar and oil, but the texture and sweetness were still perfect! I also cut out the all-purpose flour and instead used a total of 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup oat flour. They're really tasty, and it's hard to stop eating them. I got 20 large muffins, even after cutting out the oil and sugar. My batter was not soupy and liquidy like other people described, but that might be because I used a thick, unfiltered honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe is really good! I modified the recipe even more to make it more healthier. This resulted in the muffins being very flavorful (not too sweet at all, just perfect), and quite moist. Basically I prepared the veggies differently, omitted the vanilla and the sugar, substituted vanilla for plain yogurt and added a touch of pure maple syrup. much better than the granulated sugar, at the same time making the muffins quite moist! Plus: no processed ingredients! Also: Skip the salt- really there is no reason for it to be there:) This is what I used: 2 cups whole wheat flour 3/4 cup whole grain oats- thrown in blender to make into powder 1tsp baking soda 1tsp baking powder 2.5 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp nutmeg 3 eggs 1/2 cup canola oil 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce 1 cup VANILLA yogurt 2tbsp pure maple syrup 1 cup of zucchini (puree in blender) 1 cup of carrots (puree in blender) 1/2 cup raisins 1/2 cup cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
very good and moist but lots of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These muffins are very moist and satisfying. They did have an odd conus top though. Here are the changes I've made. I used non-fat greek yogurt, replaced 1/4c of honey with agave syrup, didn't put white sugar or raisins at all. Since I like my muffins on a bigger side, I ended up with only 19 of them. But they still cooked in 20 minutes. The muffins that were baked without the liners got stuck in the pan. This is the only reason I give them 4 stars. I will be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I was afraid they wouldn't bake, the batter was so liquid. But they did. I added too much zucchini, so ended up with 30 regular sized muffins and a whole pan of mini muffins too. They are delicious! I did substitute 1/4 cup of flaxseed for 1/4 cup of the white flour. Will probably reduce the sugar next time, although I used 1/2 brown sugar, and 1/2 white sugar for the 1 cup white sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPITT2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garnett, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I thought these muffins were delicious and they were super moist.I did reduce the sugar to a half cup after reading that was what it was originally supposed to be.Other than that I followed the recipe and I think it's delicious as is.I'm sure I'll be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States