Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
AWESOME!!! I tweeked it by switching the amounts of flour...I did more wheat than plain. I also added a little cocoa powder for a little extra flavor...SO YUM and some wheat germ! Also, instead of the oat flour I used 1/2c baby oatmeal and 1/4c instant oatmeal! They are a HUGE hit with my non-veggie eating toddler! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I replaced the oat flour with all whole wheat because I didn't have any oat flour on hand, substituted Splenda for sugar, increased the yogurt by 50% (using plain Greek yogurt for the protein boost), increased the pecans and raisins by about a quarter, added a teaspoon of almond extract, and added 1/4 tsp each of ground cloves and ground ginger. I also added an extra egg because I am cooking at a high altitude. Although I can't say this review is entirely fair since I made some pretty substantial changes to the original recipe, I have to say that the end result is one of the very best muffins I have ever had and I will be making it regularly. I even used the full amount of sugar (or Splenda, in my case) that the recipe listed, and although it is sweet, it is not excessive. It's definitely a more indulgent tasting muffin, a little like carrot cake, but that's exactly what I was looking for. And with the sugar-substitute, it's still pretty low-calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Really delicious, very very moist and great flavor! I used a very fine grate which was great because the texture of the vegtables was hidden from the little ones. Also used Greek yogurt and bakers joy spray it kept the muffins from sticking. I see that the recipe is revised to reduce sugar and squeeze the veggies will try that next time to keep it healthier but this review is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Used all whole wheat flour, no oil (upped the applesauce to 1c), and no sugar, just the honey. No carrots, just upped zucchini to 2c. Awesome!! Some I added mini chocolate chips! Sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've tried many different healthy muffin/cookie recipes and rarely succeed in getting the approval of my 2 year old and husband. These muffins did the trick! Great way to sneak a few veggies into my child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
All four of my kids ate these including the two who hate fruits and veggies, thanks CARINAB! I could not find oat flour at the store so I ground oatmeal in my dry Vitamix (high speed) blender and that worked fine. I tried a couple alterations and decided that this recipe works best as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Just ok, nice and moist but not sweet enough I only put half the sugar based on other reviews that used half or none and used 3/4C spelt flour instead of wholemeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yummmmm. Very delicious, my co-workers liked them too. They had a good consistency, unlike other muffins I have made with apple sauce and yogurt to substitute. I used vanilla yogurt, honey and sugar. I think I might experiment with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm ashamed to say this recipe didn't work out for me. And even more ashamed to say because of its popularity and great reviews I doubled the batch expecting to freeze and eat these for breakfast for weeks to come. I followed the recipe pretty closely but took the advice that worked for others. I squeezed excess moisture from zuchinni. I decreased the sugar and subbed honey. I also used dried cherries and walnuts instead. It seemed like everyone took their own variations and were pleased. Mine were bland and boring for everything that went into them. My mother's buttermilk bran and raisin muffins are much better and quicker to make. These seemed like a far cry from those. They were barely sweet and the texture was too dense. I realize I decreased the sugar too much but I was very careful to not over-work the batter which usually produces toughness. I used the suggestion of another and raised the oven temp for preheating and then lowered to the recipe's temp upon placing the muffins inside. This did produce a tall muffin but the bottoms began to blacken on me. On the second round I lowered the oven temp to 375 and this still occured. I know it sounds like this could be the tell-tale sign of an amateur baker but I assure you I'm not. This just wasn't for me. But I appreciate and applaud all those that were able to get great results. Don't let my review sway you against trying this out. Everyone's opinions and experiences are different. This was just mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Oh yum! I just had one fresh out the oven! Made just a few minor changes - didn't have oat flour, so ground some oatmeal in the food processor. I like dark brown sugar, so I did 1/2 white, 1/2 dark brown. Will definitely make again! Always looking for different ways to use up zucchini & get veggies in the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States