Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving....we all enjoyed it. I added sage to this and other seasonings that I would normally put in stuffing. I cooked it longer, about one hour and thirty min. The zucchini was thick so I would recommend scooping out more than the recipe states. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julene Ann Glasgow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Only thing I did differently was add some cranberries, and it was delicious. Chickpeas really make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Used the basic idea of the recipe, but changed it up. Sauteed CHOPPED onion, carrot, garlic, mushrooms, chickpeas, and zucchini insides. I didn't want the seasonings, as I've recently had a meal with those same seasonings. Decided to add some moisture and flavor by adding into the saute 1/2 water plus a scoop of chicken bouillon. Microwaved the hollowed squash and chopped potatoes (6 min each) in the microwave so I would have a head start on the cook process. Placed stuffed zucchini (with chopped potatoes around the sides with a little lemon pepper seasoning on them) in a covered dish and cooked 30 minutes. The stuffing held together and everything was nicely done. It was a tasty meal in one dish. When I am not burnt out on the recipe spices, I will try them. Fabulous meal that really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsgyardley
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious! Great use of zucchini bats. Some possible additions: feta or chèvre, tomatoes, almonds or sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Really fantadtic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The zucchinis were hard to keep in tact, but the presentation was great and everything was ultimately delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. Could have had more garlic and I used two huge cloves for this preparation. Also, stuffing the zucchini was difficult. Will try using a food processor next time, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was so tasty!! Just a note though -- get the largest zucchini you can and use a melon baller. I used teeny zucchini and while it was easy to eat, they were hard to stuff and chickpeas were rolling everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefMina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Too Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Creative dish. Used only 1/4 tsp. coriander for my preference. Seasonings smelled like felafel when cooking. I felt like it needed something, so I offered plain yogurt and a RED SAUCE to serve atop (one 15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes OR one can pureed diced, 1-2 Tbs. of red wine vinegar, two minced/pressed garlic cloves, salt and red pepper flakes to taste). This sauce is used on another Egyptian dish, kushari. I will try Arabic pepper in the filling next time for more complexity, which will taste more Mid-Eastern. Israeli couscous accompanied this nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States