Zucchini Tomato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
i'm only giving this a 3 bc bf said he liked it.. i scaled this down to 5 servings.. didn't bother to salt the zucchini and just sauteed it with the onion and double the garlic for the stated time.. added the broth (chicken bouillon) and tomato and simmered for the stated time.. i blended and added it back in and my God it was perfect.. i SHOULD have stopped there.. it was a delicious, slightly sweet, very creamy soup.. unfortunately i added all the herbs/seasonings in (even the sugar) and ugh i'm very disappointed.. they just overpowered the soup.. especially the oregano.. i had to sub lime for lemon but i dont think it would make that big of a difference.. maybe if i wouldn't have tried it without all the seasonings i wouldn't have been as disappointed.. i tried adding some fresh cilantro over my soup but it didn't help.. bf said he liked the soup and really liked it with the cilantro on top.. next time i'd just leave well enough alone and let the natural flavors of the veggies shine through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was surprised by how much I liked this. I'm not normally a fan of tomato based soups, but once I ran my emulsion blender around the pot a couple times, the zucchini really thickened things up without losing the chunkiness and cutting down the tomato flavor just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is by far one of my favourite recipes. I like it chunky so that is the only change I made. Tweaking the spices to satisfy everyone's personal palette is a must, but if you omit any of these spices in their entirety, I think you are going to miss out on a very flavourful dish. I absolutely think it is 5 star soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I used cherry tomatoes from my garden and made a flour paste and thickened it a little. Next time I will puree only half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Hauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is surprisingly good, since I don't really care for zucchini. I had some on hand and just found this recipe. Tasty just as the recipe is written (especially with a little freshly grated nutmeg). Add some pastas to leftover soup to extend it for another meal. I used young zucchini and didn't bother to de-seed or salt them down ... just peeled, sliced, and sauteed with the onions and garlic. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very nice soup, I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and fresh parsley not dried, also added carrots and a few sticks of celery, it turned out quite thick so pasta was not needed to thicken it, everyone loved it, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolphillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This soup was amazing. The only thing I changed was to add a jalapeno pepper (I used seeds and all - we like spicy food) with the onions. My husband declared it "5-star restaurant quality". Next time I might try adding some fat-free half-and-half to make it a little creamier. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made as is, except used 1 large onion, a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden rather than 1 large tomato and low sodium chicken broth. I removed the veggies and put them into another pot to puree them with an immersion blender. I left a few chunky pieces too. I seasoned with 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper at the end! It was perfectly delicious and really easy to make! My one year old daughter just loves it! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent soup but I add 2-3 fresh jalapenos , cayennes or serrano peppers from the garden for more kick. This soup never lasts long in our house. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States