Zucchini Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great comfort meal! Added Greek seasoning, since didn't have garlic powder, omitted other spices. Used Cherokee heirloom tomatoes. Added little more noodles, so didn't have alot of soup. Can't wait on leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I should have sauted the meat with garlic as there was hardly any flavor to this. We added parmesean once it was served and that made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
More stars if you are a squash fan. I halved it and still could have done with less meat. Fresh parmesan makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahkim
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Pleasant surprise. Not much of a tomato/zucchini fan, not sure what prompted me to make this. But I did, and it was a pleasant surprise! I was afraid of it being too tomato-y tasting, but it's not so! Not sure 4 c. of water is enough- there wasn't much liquid during and after cooking. I couldn't tell when the soup started to boil because there was just so much vegetable in the pot. This is a REALLY HEARTY STEW. I only added 1 lb of g. turkey, 3 lbs of macaroni. The dang soup wouldn't boil even after quite some time on high, so I just threw in the cooked turkey and macaroni and simmered and stirred till the noodles were cooked and onions softened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great Soup. I halved the recipie and used beef broth instead of the water but added another 4 cups of broth after the macaroni had cooked so there was more broth. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
my 8 year old daughter said i should give this "as many stars as you can!" she loved it so much she wants it for lunch tomorrow too. also, i put a little bit in my food grinder and fed it to my 12 month old, who loved it as well. i had to make some substitutions according to what i had on hand: i used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh (i only did 1/3 of the recipe); i used a couple teaspoons of beef bouillon instead of the soup mix (i think the soup mix would make it too salty anyway); i used one zucchini and one yellow squash; i used minced garlic instead of powder; i used frozen chopped green peppers. we topped it with a little shredded cheddar. it turned out delish and it was quick and easy to make. a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was an excellent, seasonal soup. I loved how easy it was to make, and was surprised at how quickly everything cooked. I used ground turkey instead of beef to keep it light and healthy (however the soup was very fulfilling), and maybe added just a tad more of the seasonings and herbs, just because I love them. But overall, I pretty much kept the recipe the same (except for the meat substitution), and my boyfriend and I were very pleased. Oh, and, I didn't take one other person's suggestion and added freshly grated parmesan cheese on top after dishing each bowl.....because that's yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This soup is SO good! I took the advice of another reviewer and added a can of tomato sauce. I also substituted ground turkey for the ground beef. We sprinkled shredded parmesan cheese on top. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a very good and filling soup, even the way I made it: I needed to use my slow cooker, so I had to reduce the tomatoes and zucchini a bit otherwise it wouldn't have all fitted in. I browned the meat/pepper/onion first and put it on top of the chopped veges in the s/c pot. I used beef stock instead of soup mix. I also omitted the pasta because (a) there was no room and (b) pasta doesn't really work in a slow cooker soup unless you add it near the end. It was scrumptious and I will definitely make it again, probably reducing the amount so I can use the right proportion of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States