Zucchini Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Really good, my 3 & 5 year old sons even ate them. Wonderful in the Ranch dressing. It does however need a little more seasoning added, but great just as is. Getting my boys to eat them was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is a tasty treat. I don't deep fry it though, I just cover the bottom of a skillet with oil and turn the zucchini over after the first side is browned. Mix some grated parmesan in with the crumbs for extra flavor. You can also make round slices instead of strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
They were good. I like the ones I get in the restaurants better. They were a little on the bland side. Maybe would be good with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
These were very good but a little time consuming to make. Perhaps that is because I used one huge zucchini and cut it into smaller strips, about 1/2" thick - maybe they were a little too small. I took others' recommendations of adding garlic powder, onion powder and Italian seasoning to the bread crumbs and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese when they came out of the deep fryer. Delicious! A little greasy but we enjoyed them. A great way to use up an abundance of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Oooooh sooooo good! Just like you get in restaurants! DEFINENTLY coat zucchini slices with flour before dipping into egg mixture so it sticks and DEFINENTLY sprinkle with salt and pepper and parmesan after frying. Delicious - we even forgot to use any dip, just ate them up as soon as they were cool enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I marinated my zucchini sticks in italian dressing overnight first and used plain bread crumbs instead. They tasted fabulous, but I had trouble getting the breading to stick once I fried them. Nothing I tried seemed to work. Great dipped in ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I was terribly disappointed in these zucchini sticks. I made them exactly as the recipe indicated and they simply tasted like fried bread crumbs.I'd printed the recipe out months ago so I didn't have the numerous changes from the reviews to factor in, but I was certain they'd be tasty after reading the description on the recipe itself. The first problem I ran into was the recipe calls for heavy cream...but nowhere in the instructions does it say to WHIP it. Instead the instructions begin by saying to mix the whipped cream with the eggs. THERE'S A CRUCIAL STEP LEFT OUT IN THIS RECIPE. Additionally, these are extremely bland. Some spices desperately need to be added to the crumb mixture. After reading the reviews today, I see that there are a number of things others have done to produce a more tasty zucchini stick. But after doing that...I feel that I now have a different recipe and not this one. I L-O-V-E fried zucchini, but was sorely disappointed in these and will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
My first time making these, and they are excellent!!! The table cream makes all the difference, but I love garlic, so I added garlic and onion powder, and a couple of sprinkles of italian seasoning. Once finished cooking, I added some grated parmesan cheese all over the top with a little more salt and pepper, and PERFECTION!! I will definitely make this recipe again!! Thanx LaDonna! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
These are the best I have ever tasted!!!! The look like resturant style. I served them with a seafood sauce. Wonderful, you have to try them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
An easy recipe for one of the greatest snacks/appetizers ever. My family has made these for years. Two suggestions: 1.) Before dipping zucchini in egg mixture, coat lightly with flour. The egg sticks better. And 2.) To taste the authentic Italian side dish, add a little garlic powder to your batter and after frying, sprinkle with grated Parmesan or Romano cheese. Oh, man -- perfection...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States