Zucchini Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a moist, tasty, rich yet simple cake that I would make over and over again. I used a piece of a giant tough zucchini that had seeds the size of pumpkin seeds (I scraped out the seeds first of course) and it still turned out tender and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fantastic recipe, beautiful spice flavour and nice moist texture, dates added to this recipe was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Let It Shine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
One of my co-workers gave me a gigantic zucchini. I was going to make zucchini bread with it, that's until I saw this recipe! The only change I made to the recipe was to reduce the sugar to 1 cup white and 1 cup brown. It was plenty sweet enough. I think I'll leave out the ground cloves next time (personal choice). All in all, the cake does deserve 5 stars. It's very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! There is so much zucchini in our garden and I've been trying to think of ways to use it all. My family liked this so much that they want me to use all of the zucchini for this! In the past two days I have made five of these cakes for family and friends and everyone has loved it! For a special event, I would suggest topping it off with penuche frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Fantastic! This recipe used the most zucchini, but sooooo much sugar. I cut the sugar to 1/2 Cup each white and brown. Sweet enough with the applesauce. And I used half white and half whole wheat flours. And to get the moisture out of the grated zuke, just squeeze it in your hands. Very moist and delicious. With the spices, it kinda reminded me of pumpkin bread. We loved this more than the chocolate zucchini cake. I made it twice this week already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
What a great cake! I did lighten it some with excellent results. I used 2 eggs & 1/2 cup egg substitute, 2 cups of all-purpose flour & one cup of whole wheat, and 1 cup of white sugar & 1 cup of Splenda. Fabulous! Thank you, BECCARAE1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I don't have a grater or food processor, but I do have a blender, so I needed to puree the zucchini in the blender with liquid. I figured this would give me too much liquid from the zucchini, so I needed to reduce the amount of other liquid -- I therefore reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose flour (I always do when baking). The cake was great! My husband complained about it (b/c he doesn't like the idea of zucchini in dessert) but he asked for seconds every time I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very good and moist! Might try cutting down on sugar next time. Making it again for company this weekend! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was very very good! I doubled the spices and used both coconut flakes and walnuts and it turned out very moist and tasty. Topped with a coffee-chocolate glaze, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States