Zucchini Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was great soup! My boyfriend even raved about it for a week and is begging me to make it again. I did make some changes, I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, I omitted the celery and I had to add a can of beef broth and some vegetable broth to make it more soup like. I also made this in my slow cooker (low for 8 hours)then topped with shredded mozzarella and served with rolls and salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is one of our favorite soup recipes. In the summer, I freeze it to use in winter. Everyone loves it, even the kids. I use hot Italian sausage and dice the zucchini. If you double the recipe, a one gallon can of diced tomatoes equals 8 16 oz. cans, which drastically reduces the cost and prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This is a great recipe, really delicious.... my mother-in-law used to make a similar soup and we'd lost her recipe. Thanks, Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Mmmmmm...This is so good. I halved everything in the recipe except the spices. I also didn't have celery, so in its place, just used a bit of celery salt and added more zucchini. The only liquid is in the stewed tomatos, so I found I had to add water or else I'd be left with not much 'soup' just veggies. Way good though. I will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Best soup recipe ever using up so much of the over abundance of Zucchini. Even a year after being in the freezer, it still tastes great. I added fresh corn to it. Sure gave it lots of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Ohhh this was WONDERFUL! My only changes were to add a little salt and then we added mozzarella to our bowls of soup. Divine! I would highly recommend using diced tomatoes instead of stewed sliced tomatoes. I didn't find any "stewed diced" so I bought the sliced and they were really big chunks. I spent about 5 minutes cutting up the slices with a pair of kitchen scissors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup was very good! Made it a few times while the zucchinis were multiplying like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Terrific! Even kids liked it, despite not being able to identify what most of the ingredients were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitty
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. The blend of flavours was amazing. I used 5 mild italian sausages that I took out of their casings before browning. I was a little short on celery (maybe a 1/4c) so I threw in a 1/2tsp or so of celery salt. I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand so I used two 19 fl oz cans of Aylmer Accents petite cut tomatoes with spicy red pepper and one of those cans filled with chicken stock. I still can't believe how good the flavour was, it had a nice bite to it but not too spicy that my kids wouldn't eat it. Very good and will definitely be making again. It was wonderful on a cold rainy summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I have been making a version of this recipe since I was a newlywed (when dinasours roamed the earth :), and couldn't lay my hands on my recipe because my cookbooks are packed away while we do some remodelling. I have a bounty of zucchini and was so glad to find the recipe here. The soup is simmering on the stove right now and the whole house smells fantastic. We will eat this in big bowls with crusty bread and a salad. Not fancy, but comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States