Zucchini Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I gave this 4 stars because I did make changes, but it is a great starting point. I quadrupled the recipe in order to can it (I was able to can 14 quarts, plus served dinner to my family of 8). I had to add chicken broth to make it a "soup". I added about 3.5 quarts of chicken broth for the quantity I made. I then found the juice to be too runny, and there were still tons of veggies. I took about 3 blender fulls and pureed it, then put them back into the soup. This gave it a great balance of soup and veggies. I also added a good amount of garlic simply because we like it. I plan to use this recipe a lot this summer to help preserve the abundance of zucchini from our garden. For those interested in canning it, I pressure canned it at 11 lbs pressure for 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is one of our favorite soup recipes. In the summer, I freeze it to use in winter. Everyone loves it, even the kids. I use hot Italian sausage and dice the zucchini. If you double the recipe, a one gallon can of diced tomatoes equals 8 16 oz. cans, which drastically reduces the cost and prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good recipe. I sliced the zucchini a little too thick, so if I make it again, I'll make thinner slices. It was nice to have sausage in this soup, and this whole recipe lasted me for 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was great soup! My boyfriend even raved about it for a week and is begging me to make it again. I did make some changes, I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, I omitted the celery and I had to add a can of beef broth and some vegetable broth to make it more soup like. I also made this in my slow cooker (low for 8 hours)then topped with shredded mozzarella and served with rolls and salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Mmmmmm...This is so good. I halved everything in the recipe except the spices. I also didn't have celery, so in its place, just used a bit of celery salt and added more zucchini. The only liquid is in the stewed tomatos, so I found I had to add water or else I'd be left with not much 'soup' just veggies. Way good though. I will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Ohhh this was WONDERFUL! My only changes were to add a little salt and then we added mozzarella to our bowls of soup. Divine! I would highly recommend using diced tomatoes instead of stewed sliced tomatoes. I didn't find any "stewed diced" so I bought the sliced and they were really big chunks. I spent about 5 minutes cutting up the slices with a pair of kitchen scissors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Super recipe. I did use Italian sausage ad found it to be pretty think and ended up adding some water (just eyeballed it) but delish! I froze half of it...I hope it will taste as good as when first cooked. But great recipe. Will make plenty of times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This is a great recipe, really delicious.... my mother-in-law used to make a similar soup and we'd lost her recipe. Thanks, Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup was very good! Made it a few times while the zucchinis were multiplying like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I made a slight modification to this recipe: instead of stewed tomatoes I diced 3 medium tomatoes from my garden. It was a perfect soup for a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States