Zucchini Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This is a great recipe, really delicious.... my mother-in-law used to make a similar soup and we'd lost her recipe. Thanks, Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Terrific! Even kids liked it, despite not being able to identify what most of the ingredients were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good recipe. I sliced the zucchini a little too thick, so if I make it again, I'll make thinner slices. It was nice to have sausage in this soup, and this whole recipe lasted me for 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is one of our favorite soup recipes. In the summer, I freeze it to use in winter. Everyone loves it, even the kids. I use hot Italian sausage and dice the zucchini. If you double the recipe, a one gallon can of diced tomatoes equals 8 16 oz. cans, which drastically reduces the cost and prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Mmmmmm...This is so good. I halved everything in the recipe except the spices. I also didn't have celery, so in its place, just used a bit of celery salt and added more zucchini. The only liquid is in the stewed tomatos, so I found I had to add water or else I'd be left with not much 'soup' just veggies. Way good though. I will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I gave this 4 stars because I did make changes, but it is a great starting point. I quadrupled the recipe in order to can it (I was able to can 14 quarts, plus served dinner to my family of 8). I had to add chicken broth to make it a "soup". I added about 3.5 quarts of chicken broth for the quantity I made. I then found the juice to be too runny, and there were still tons of veggies. I took about 3 blender fulls and pureed it, then put them back into the soup. This gave it a great balance of soup and veggies. I also added a good amount of garlic simply because we like it. I plan to use this recipe a lot this summer to help preserve the abundance of zucchini from our garden. For those interested in canning it, I pressure canned it at 11 lbs pressure for 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Ohhh this was WONDERFUL! My only changes were to add a little salt and then we added mozzarella to our bowls of soup. Divine! I would highly recommend using diced tomatoes instead of stewed sliced tomatoes. I didn't find any "stewed diced" so I bought the sliced and they were really big chunks. I spent about 5 minutes cutting up the slices with a pair of kitchen scissors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
We liked this quite well. Since I didn't have any celery, I used double the zucchini and put in celery salt and whole celery seed instead. I sliced all the zucchini and pepper in the food processor so it took very little time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitty
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. The blend of flavours was amazing. I used 5 mild italian sausages that I took out of their casings before browning. I was a little short on celery (maybe a 1/4c) so I threw in a 1/2tsp or so of celery salt. I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand so I used two 19 fl oz cans of Aylmer Accents petite cut tomatoes with spicy red pepper and one of those cans filled with chicken stock. I still can't believe how good the flavour was, it had a nice bite to it but not too spicy that my kids wouldn't eat it. Very good and will definitely be making again. It was wonderful on a cold rainy summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I have been making a version of this recipe since I was a newlywed (when dinasours roamed the earth :), and couldn't lay my hands on my recipe because my cookbooks are packed away while we do some remodelling. I have a bounty of zucchini and was so glad to find the recipe here. The soup is simmering on the stove right now and the whole house smells fantastic. We will eat this in big bowls with crusty bread and a salad. Not fancy, but comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States