Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Had high hopes for this recipe as we love all kinds of squash and potato soups. Followed recipe exactly except for omitting the potato flakes because I didn't have any. It was completely tasteless so I added a healthy handful of grated mozzarella, a tablespoon or so of Tajin ( a mexican seasoning blend of chilis dried lime and salt), a hefty squeezing of sriracha, and salt to taste. I blended the additions in with the immersion blender and added chopped cilantro to each bowl. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy! I used yellow crookneck squash a friend had given me from her garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Really good use for extra garden zucchini. "8 zucchini" is very vague; I used one large garden zucchini, figuring that it approximated 8 of the small ones you find in stores. I used 1% milk, added a couple of kung pao peppers to give it a kick, and made it all in the soup pot using an immersion blender. Much easier than dealing with extra dishes. I sprinkled some dry dill on top of the pot while cooking, not nearly 4 tablespoons full. I think adding a spoonful of sour cream or plain yogurt on top of your bowl would be tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very good soup, lots of flavour. I added a can of tomatoes and a tsp of lemon juice. Family loved this recipe, will definitely keep and make again. Next time I make this recipe I will add a cup of grated carrots. Well recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Used 4 cups of shredded zucchini, 2 medium potatoes, 1 cup skim milk. Skipped the potato flakes. Topped it with cheddar cheese and croutons. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I normally follow a recipe verbatim the first time I make it, but this was an exception. I used veggie broth since I'm a vegan. I also threw in a couple of extra potatoes since I had them. After the zucchini and potatoes had cooked, I used an immersion blender which worked great. It turned into a nice, thick consistency. Taste tested it and it was great. Just slightly bland so I added the soy sauce as directed. I completely skipped the milk (I was going to use rice milk) and potato flakes (those just seemed weird in an otherwise natural organic soup). I think it's really good this way, and it saves you a few dollars in extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motty Mott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made it with GF bread crumbs and soy milk and sweet potatoes. DF, GF, NF Organic as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doloreskent
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is RIGHT ON!! I've made it 3 times this week already. Each time I made little tweaks (although it is delicious the way it is). First I added celery in with the onion. Next I'm going to add in leaks. I did like the other reviewers and only used one pot. I also used regular black pepper and even red pepper flakes. I did add a little garlic then garnished with cheddar cheese (or parmesan) and served with crusty sour dough bread! In heaven! This was an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great recipe! The little bit of soy sauce is a nice touch. I like that you use potato flakes to thicken. I've been doing that for years, with various cream-type soups. Any kind of soup that isn't quite as thick as you want it can be easily thickened by throwing in potato flakes, a little at a time. Also, I used my immersion blender to puree the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States