Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was really good. The flavors were great together. I used 4 potatoes instead of flakes just because I don't keep flakes and I had the fresh herbs on hand. Some fresh Italian parsley on top made it a pretty dish. Served it with hot crusty bread and it made a nice stand alone meal for a cool day (with seconds of course!). I also used one pot for start to finish and pureed it with my stick blender in the pot so it was all easy as well as delicious. It is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was good--I served it chilled but I think it would be better warm with a nice crusty bread. Also, I froze a portion of mine for a mere week and when I defrosted it, it was just NOT the same. Anyone freeze it successfully?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Not bad, but not great either. A good use of garden zucchini. It had a good taste, but I didn't like the texture. I only preed half like other reviews said, but if I were to make again (I probably won't though) I would just dice the zucchini and potatoes VERY small and leave them like that. I really like potato soup so I think I would like it better with more potatoes. I wanted to put a dollop of sour cream in the middle but I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is excellent. My zucchini crop is abundant this year with the amount of rain we've had here in eastern Texas. I've been using different recipes to put of some of my zucchini crop in the freezer. This is a real winner. My zucchini's are very large so I chopped up what I thought was the equivilent to the 8 called for in the recipe. I added 4 medium sized russet potatos instead of 2 and omitted the flakes. I also cooked it all up in one pot. The only additions I made were a some fresh chopped garlic during cooking and a little dash of salt and some black pepper in the end. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I just made this soup today and it was delicious! Here are a few changes I made: I made the soup all in one pot. Instead of sauteeing everything in a skillet and then transferring, I sauteed the onions, potatoes, and zucchinis in a large pot, and then added the milk and water (with chicken soup flavoring) to the mixture. I used an immersion blender instead of a food processor. I didn't have so many zucchinis, so instead I used 4 potatoes, 3 zucchinis, a different amount of water and milk (didn't measure), and instead of soy sauce, I used sherry and worchestershire sauce. I also didn't feel the need to add potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
looks good and tastes good! I tried it and in the end before I liquidised everything, I added 3 triangles of cream cheese...they give a completely different taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I was rather suprised how lovely this soup tasted! I didnt add potato flakes and used fresh herbs instead of dried with a touch of mild curry powder, garlic granules and herb salt. Awesome, and my boyfriend who dosn't really like zucchini loved this soup! Excellent way to use up those plentiful zucchini's in the garden - Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I am a huge zicchini fan so this was ok for me. But it was rather bland and tasting as if it was just boiled and blended zucchini. Needs a lot of creativity, if I make it again. I saw a zucchini soup recipe with the addition of curry on this site, and that may do the job. Also, I tasted it when it was still hot and that was better and more flavourful than the cold version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I made this with a few changes. I didnt have any potatoes so I added some carrots,cooked and blended. I also added a dash of ceyanne pepper. I loved it and it was the first cold soup my family has ever had, so it was slow going for them, but not a definate thumbs down. I will make this again , for me , at least. With all of the zucchinis hanging around this summer, this is an excellent way to use them up, also i am dieting and this is an excellent meal all around for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Hubby really liked it and is glad there are leftovers. I used fresh basil along with the dried as we have alot in the garden, along with some salt and pepper as I did not have any thyme. I will definetly make this again (lots since we have ton of zucchinni in the garden!) Thanks fo rthe recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States