Zucchini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Had high hopes for this recipe as we love all kinds of squash and potato soups. Followed recipe exactly except for omitting the potato flakes because I didn't have any. It was completely tasteless so I added a healthy handful of grated mozzarella, a tablespoon or so of Tajin ( a mexican seasoning blend of chilis dried lime and salt), a hefty squeezing of sriracha, and salt to taste. I blended the additions in with the immersion blender and added chopped cilantro to each bowl. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy! I used yellow crookneck squash a friend had given me from her garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Really good use for extra garden zucchini. "8 zucchini" is very vague; I used one large garden zucchini, figuring that it approximated 8 of the small ones you find in stores. I used 1% milk, added a couple of kung pao peppers to give it a kick, and made it all in the soup pot using an immersion blender. Much easier than dealing with extra dishes. I sprinkled some dry dill on top of the pot while cooking, not nearly 4 tablespoons full. I think adding a spoonful of sour cream or plain yogurt on top of your bowl would be tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very good soup, lots of flavour. I added a can of tomatoes and a tsp of lemon juice. Family loved this recipe, will definitely keep and make again. Next time I make this recipe I will add a cup of grated carrots. Well recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Used 4 cups of shredded zucchini, 2 medium potatoes, 1 cup skim milk. Skipped the potato flakes. Topped it with cheddar cheese and croutons. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I normally follow a recipe verbatim the first time I make it, but this was an exception. I used veggie broth since I'm a vegan. I also threw in a couple of extra potatoes since I had them. After the zucchini and potatoes had cooked, I used an immersion blender which worked great. It turned into a nice, thick consistency. Taste tested it and it was great. Just slightly bland so I added the soy sauce as directed. I completely skipped the milk (I was going to use rice milk) and potato flakes (those just seemed weird in an otherwise natural organic soup). I think it's really good this way, and it saves you a few dollars in extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motty Mott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made it with GF bread crumbs and soy milk and sweet potatoes. DF, GF, NF Organic as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doloreskent
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is RIGHT ON!! I've made it 3 times this week already. Each time I made little tweaks (although it is delicious the way it is). First I added celery in with the onion. Next I'm going to add in leaks. I did like the other reviewers and only used one pot. I also used regular black pepper and even red pepper flakes. I did add a little garlic then garnished with cheddar cheese (or parmesan) and served with crusty sour dough bread! In heaven! This was an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great recipe! The little bit of soy sauce is a nice touch. I like that you use potato flakes to thicken. I've been doing that for years, with various cream-type soups. Any kind of soup that isn't quite as thick as you want it can be easily thickened by throwing in potato flakes, a little at a time. Also, I used my immersion blender to puree the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States