Zucchini Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I make this recipe alot but it is much better with some chopped bacon and some garlic. I also eliminate the oil - it is still great without it and you dont have so much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downunder de

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
This recipe is similar to one that my Nan used to make. Now that we have "rediscovered" the recipe, it has been passed around the family, and everyone loves it. The only difference to our original recipe - we think! - is that we add bacon to ours, for a little added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
As written I can see where this recipe might be a little bland, but a little salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder and 8 slices of cooked & crumbled bacon made it very good. It tastes much like a quiche' but not as "eggy". This is a good basic recipe to use up all that summer zucchini and experiment with additional ingedients. I'll make it again adding different seasoning & ingredients. Fun to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have made this a few times and i think its great for a side dish at a BBQ. I usually add a few extra things like garlic and greated carrot. I also add some extrea chhese on the top and it makes a nice little crust. this recipe is a keeper, great in summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My Stepmother Janet, who lived in Oz for many years gave me this recipe, and like others she adds the chopped bacon, it IS more tasty! However my daughter is now vegetarian and I have been adding chopped button mushrooms (her favorite veg) and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I tried this recipe on Sunday night for my husband who never eats Zucchinis...except I added 4 chopped bacon rashes, 2 teaspoons of garlic salt, freshly ground pepper and since I didn't have any swiss cheese I just used a cup of grated tasty cheese....it was just scrumptious...so delish...it will be a family favourite now...he couldn't get enough of it. I used an 8 inch pie dish to cook mine in and baked it in an 180 degrees C fan forced oven for 45 mins. He has even taken the left overs to work for lunch today....that is high praise indeed. Thanks so much...This is now a permanent in our family....yum yum..PS Forgot to add that I diced the onion finely rather than grated it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
In Australia we eat zucchini slice often, and mum always added some cooked bacon. I also use slightly less oil and salt and pepper are a must to add flavour. I usually also add in some corn and sometimes a grated carrot, depending what I am trying to use up, and I use cheddar cheese as it is cheaper. This is a good, basic recipe that can be adapted to suit different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good recipe to start with. Only problem was the size pan - loaf - it took a while for the middle to cook and ended up in the over for a bit over an hour (and was still a little mushy). I would probably use a slice pan next time. I added one sweet potato grated in place of one zucchini and 2 cloves a of garlic as well as salt and pepper. Was a hit with adults and children. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a great starter recipe for me, I really liked the premise of it, but made some significant changes, well additions really. I added bacon as others suggested, caramelized onions and garlic, salt & pepper, red pepper flakes. Also, for cheese I used a few different kinds, essentially using up a bunch of 'ends' I had in the fridge. It was a great way to use up extra zucchini and other leftovers in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It was a good start - I didn't want to make any modifications because I wanted to see what the original recipe would taste like. It was bland and bitter (I forgot to peel the zucchini - I wonder if this made it bitter?) Next time I will try it with bacon, garlic, salt and pepper to see if the flavor improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States