Zucchini Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My Stepmother Janet, who lived in Oz for many years gave me this recipe, and like others she adds the chopped bacon, it IS more tasty! However my daughter is now vegetarian and I have been adding chopped button mushrooms (her favorite veg) and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good recipe to start with. Only problem was the size pan - loaf - it took a while for the middle to cook and ended up in the over for a bit over an hour (and was still a little mushy). I would probably use a slice pan next time. I added one sweet potato grated in place of one zucchini and 2 cloves a of garlic as well as salt and pepper. Was a hit with adults and children. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was very good. I added 4 slices of bacon, 4 cloves of garlic, and 1 cup of mexican blend cheese. Turned out very light and fluffy. Great use for zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a great starter recipe for me, I really liked the premise of it, but made some significant changes, well additions really. I added bacon as others suggested, caramelized onions and garlic, salt & pepper, red pepper flakes. Also, for cheese I used a few different kinds, essentially using up a bunch of 'ends' I had in the fridge. It was a great way to use up extra zucchini and other leftovers in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
As written I can see where this recipe might be a little bland, but a little salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder and 8 slices of cooked & crumbled bacon made it very good. It tastes much like a quiche' but not as "eggy". This is a good basic recipe to use up all that summer zucchini and experiment with additional ingedients. I'll make it again adding different seasoning & ingredients. Fun to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I make this recipe alot but it is much better with some chopped bacon and some garlic. I also eliminate the oil - it is still great without it and you dont have so much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downunder de

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is the purfect poor mans meal. My mom use to make this for me and my sister. It was the only way to get us to eat zucchini. it could use some season all or garlic powder. Also, I used 1/2 cup flower. I think the flower is what makes it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonwillette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have made this a few times and i think its great for a side dish at a BBQ. I usually add a few extra things like garlic and greated carrot. I also add some extrea chhese on the top and it makes a nice little crust. this recipe is a keeper, great in summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Admittedly, I didn't have swiss cheese on hand which I'm sure would've improved it (I used cheddar). But it was fairly bland, which was fine for my twelve month old! It has to be cooked for much longer than stated - about an hour fifteen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Ugh, can I give this a zero or a negative 5? This was absolutely disgusting, worst dish I have ever made, ever! I can't even give comments to improve upon it. The taste was terrible, I could not even finish was serving. Extremely acidic, bitter and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States