Zucchini Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was so easy and came out fantastic... I also added some grated carrot..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
As written is very bland and soggy. Wouldn't make this one again. Lora Deanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Tried this for the wife & myself tonight, read the reviews about bland, added half a pkg of Szechwan seasonings. My biggest problem is: how much is 3 Zucchinis? Please measure in cups, I used 3/8ths of a huge peeled and gutted zucchini...Filled a 9x9 pan...Tasted ok, but lots of leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
So, I just made this and added what I thought would be flavor after reading everyone's reviews. I sautéed the onion in garlic, added salt, pepper, white pepper, french fried onions on top, and a pinch of cayenne. I even omitted 1/2 cup of flour! Still has no flavor. All that = no flavor. Add REDHOT = YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adelyn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I remembered the first time I've ever had zucchini slice it was amazing and when I found this recipe I couldn't wait to try it out. I made a few changes: 1). I didn't use the recommended size tray, I used my normal tray that I roast veges in and increased the cooking time to 50mins. 2). I replaced the onion for 1 grated carrot because it added more color to the dish. 3). Instead of swiss I used one cup of colby cheese because swiss is too mild. 4) I added one cup of bacon and also added salt and pepper. 5) I added only 1/4 cup of canola oil. Next time I am going to add 1/4 tsp of onion powder to give it an extra bit of savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It was a good start - I didn't want to make any modifications because I wanted to see what the original recipe would taste like. It was bland and bitter (I forgot to peel the zucchini - I wonder if this made it bitter?) Next time I will try it with bacon, garlic, salt and pepper to see if the flavor improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I tried this recipe on Sunday night for my husband who never eats Zucchinis...except I added 4 chopped bacon rashes, 2 teaspoons of garlic salt, freshly ground pepper and since I didn't have any swiss cheese I just used a cup of grated tasty cheese....it was just scrumptious...so delish...it will be a family favourite now...he couldn't get enough of it. I used an 8 inch pie dish to cook mine in and baked it in an 180 degrees C fan forced oven for 45 mins. He has even taken the left overs to work for lunch today....that is high praise indeed. Thanks so much...This is now a permanent in our family....yum yum..PS Forgot to add that I diced the onion finely rather than grated it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
A nice alternative to the typical zucchini recipes. As suggested by another reviewer, I added bacon and garlic. I would also add salt and some crushed tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by untwinedpower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is an old recipe my family uses, so it was great to find it here. First, I would be careful with the zucchini - I had one enormous one that was plenty! I also added cracked pepper, a little cumin and nutmeg. Interesting combination, but it added a little something! Great for barbeques, lunches, etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
In Australia we eat zucchini slice often, and mum always added some cooked bacon. I also use slightly less oil and salt and pepper are a must to add flavour. I usually also add in some corn and sometimes a grated carrot, depending what I am trying to use up, and I use cheddar cheese as it is cheaper. This is a good, basic recipe that can be adapted to suit different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States