Zucchini Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent! I followed one of the suggestions and just microwaved the zuchinni for 4 minutes, then followed the rest of the directions. I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and cut back some on the mozzarella. Next time I'll use more cheese and maybe change up the kind of cheese. The parmesan is really what makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are sooo tasty! I did cut back a little on the bread crumbs! They are so easy i made them in my convection oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Really like this recipe. I used stove top stuffing for the bread crumbs. My husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very tasty! I substituted turkey bacon for bacon bits and it was delicious. You do have to be careful not to over boil the zucchini to avoid mushy shells but as long as you're attentive to that one thing, the recipe is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. My guess is the poor reviews come from reviewers overcooking the zucchini during the boiling process - which would cause it to taste soggy as they report. I pre-boiled the water, dropped the zucchini in, boiled them steady for 2 minutes, then turned off the heat and let them sit in the water for the remaining 3. They were perfect!... flexible, yet still firm. Then, I brushed with oil, sprinkled with pepper and put under the broiler 5 minutes. I stuffed each zucchini generously per the directions, and put under the broiler one minute. The topping was browned, the cheese melted, and it was crispy on top, perfectly warm in the middle and the zucchini was perfect. No soggy-ness whatsoever. Fanstastic. What we loved most was that they were a refreshing take on stuffed potato skins without the heaviness of the starch and gritty-ness of potatoes and skins! We gave this a 5 out of 5. This is a definite keeper. Love it, and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a great idea in theory. In practice, the finaly product is soggy. I may play with the recipe a bit - possibly frying the scooped out zucchini (yikes) to get that crunch that we expect from potato skins. This might make them more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The flavor and idea is really good...the turn-out not so much. The zucchini was pretty soggy. I would like to try it again with a much shorter boil time. Also, the breadcrumbs and sour cream just kind of came together in a paste that never changed in consistency through the cooking process. I think with some tweaking this could really work. As is I was left wanting a retry : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This works great for yellow squash as well! I load mine with a mixture of cheese, bacon bits, breadcrumbs and chopped jalapenos. Then I wrap in foil and grill for 20 minutes or so. The recipe I have has you boil the squash whole, wait for them to cool completely (which takes forever!!) then slice lengthwise and scoop the insides...the sides tend to droop and it's hard to keep the 'stuffing' in. Next time, I will scoop first, then boil to see if that keeps them firm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I cooked them a little different than the recipe instructed but that's because I did them on the grill. These came out fantastic on the grill! I ommitted the bacon bits and the mozzarella. Really yummy right off the grill but still delicious the next day cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This tasted great even though I didn't have the bacon. Even my 12-year-old son (who doesn't like many vegetables) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States