Zucchini Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is definitely a five star recipe; and it's really easy to prepare. I did a couple things differently. I saw no need to peel the zucchini, and as a result it was not mushy, but nice and crisp. The unpeeled zucchini also gave great color to the dish! I cooked the rice separately. I brought a 15 oz. can of Swanson's 97% chicken broth and added enough water to make two cups of liquid. To the 2 cups of boiling liquid I added a tsp. salt, and one cup of long grain rice and cooked the rice until it was just tender. After the vegetables finish cooking I combined them with the hot cooked rice. Then as a finishing touch, I added 3/4 cup of Monterey Jack(suggestion of a previous Reviewer). I've cooked "Zucchini Saute" twice to raving reviews. It's a very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Delicious! I would recommend, however, doubling the rice and using a larger variety of vegetables in place of some of the zucchini. I did so and it was magnificent. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
Rather than add salt I used chicken broth in place of the water and it gave it a great flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This recipe is so delicious and healthy. I skip the oil entirely and just saute the onions (and garlic!) in water, which makes this recipe pretty much fat free. I also double the rice so I can eat it as a main. Fantastic! (Some changes I've tried: You can easily substitute the zucchini with cucumber, and Jen's "yogurt cheese dressing" (3 tbsp. yogurt, 1 tbsp. prepared mustard, 1 tbsp. grated parmesan cheese) is fantastic stirred throughout the dish. Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I made this the other night... it was yummy. I added some yellow squash to it for some color, and totally omitted the rice and water. Turned out wonderful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
The receipe was simple yet delicious. It is inexpensive to make and clean up is easy with this one pot meal. My husband and I will definately prepare this one again! (Note Variation: I did not have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes w/Italian herbs by Contadina that I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is an excellent base receipe. I subsituted the 2 tomatoes for a can of diced tomatoes and chilies. I also saute the onion with some fresh garlic. It was terrific. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I sauteed the veggies until they were a little on the carmelized side which made the dish have great flavor. I didn't change the recipe at all and I loved it. I just added salt and pepper to taste at the end. I will def make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotorwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This is a wonderful side dish. It is a great way to use the vegtable from the garden when they are so plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very good and quick. I also left the skin on the zucchini and sliced them in half. Used seasoned chopped tomatoes....drained, but added some of the juice towards the end of cooking time. Also cooked the rice separate and added after veggies were cooked. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States