Zucchini Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
when cooking zucchini in a skillet, i always chop it up, then douse it with salt and let sit in a colander for 20-30 minutes before cooking...it gets rid of a lot of the water, staying somewhat firm while cooking. i replaced the italian seasoning with cumin- so good! *sigh* i love summer garden vegetable dishes! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This recipe was really easy. My picky picky husband loved it. I sauteed the garlic in with the onion instead of waiting. I also added a spaghetti squash. I used DelMonte Diced tomatoes with garlic, onion and olive oil instead of fresh tomato. It worked well although I drained off the liquid before serving. I added scallions when I added the tomatoes. I didn't have "italian seasoning" but sprinkled with some parsley, oregano and basil. Very easy and will add to the regular veggie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Loved it! Used valdalia onions and canned italian tomatoes & no mushrooms. Made this for inlaws last night for dinner with the best beef filets I have had in over 15 years. Mother in law said this veggie dish was even better than the beef! Have made this several times since first review. I think it's best with a can or two of Italian style stewed tomatoes. Have made this with fresh, ripe tomatoes, but I couldn't duplicate the spices in the stewed tomatoes. Plus, it's much easier! Just made again. I also use a sprinkling of Mrs. Dash. I forgot to use some when I ate it last & it thought it was missing something. Remembered to use Mrs. Dash last night & it was MUCH better. Adds just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Outside of the Italian seasoning, this is the way I grew up eating zucchini and the way I still prepare it today. I used a very nice Tuscan seasoning blend and sweet onion rather than red. I don't know that it will change what is familiar and comfortable to me, but it was good! I mean, what's not to like with Italian seasoning? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
We LOVED this recipe. The only thing I will do differently next time, is to slice the onions instead of dicing them. The diced pieces were too small to fit onto the fork, but tasted yummy just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This is so good! I ate it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Delicious and versatile! Be sure to try it with some Parmesan Cheese sprinkled on top! Yummy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is a great side dish. I usually add some yellow summer squash for some color. I bake it in the oven at 425 for about 45 minutes in glass baking dish sprayed with PAM vs. using olive oil. I sprinkle it with some low fat parmesan cheese, a little lite butter, salt & pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I haven't served zucchini to my kids before so I was expecting them to balk when it was placed in front of them. However, once I got them to actually put it in their mouths, they really liked it! My husband loved it too. I used some of the variations mentioned: canned tomatoes w/ basil and garlic, garlic salt instead of salt, more crushed garlic, and sprinkled with parmesan. I will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I halved the recipe and used half of a can of diced tomatoes in a garlic herb sauce instead of the tomato. I don't like mushrooms and used half of a red pepper instead. I wanted to use a yellow squash, but the ones at the store did not look good. The veggies were missing something, I think. Perhaps I did not add enough Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States