Zucchini Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
i love risotto, and this was a very good flavor combination! but 1/2 of a zucchini is definitely not enough!! i used a whole zucchini plus some yellow squash. i added the sun dried tomatoes about half way through cooking so that they would flavor the rice more. i also doubled the cheese (i used freshly shaved asiago) because I love cheese :) but it tasted pretty flavorful before i added the cheese, so you can definitely leave out the cheese or use less if you are trying to reduce fat. i made this today for my mom's birthday and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
risotto is intimidating because of all of the stirring. As much as I cook, I still cannot get rice to work, so how was I going to make something as complicated as risotto? Thanks to this recipe (my inaugural attempt), my risotto was wonderful. Being a WeightWatcher girl, I did not add the parmesan cheese to the top (didn't miss it) and added lots of veggies. I too rough chopped my zucchini, and added chopped fresh broccoli and sweet peas (at the very end). I'd recommend carrots too. One happy note: I did not "stir continuously". Instead I used a very good pot and stirred "quite often", until the end. When the mixture thickened, I "stirred continuously" and voila! No blob. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was my first risotto attempt and it worked out pretty well. I was cooking for 2 so I scaled back the ingredients as follows(which made enough for 3): 4 cups chicken broth 1 tablespoon butter 1 cup rice 1/2 sweet onion chopped 2 small carrots chopped 5 sun dried tomatoes (used the kind packed in oil) 1 zucchini chopped 1 tablespoon dried thyme 3 tablespoons fresh grated parmesan ~ 12 small basil leaves sliced width-wise I sauteed the carrots and onions together first, then added the rice and followed the rest of the recipe as instructed. Carrots sweeted it up a bit and the basil should not be skipped - it added a really nice flavor. With constant stirring over medium heat, the risotto probably took about 30 minutes total to cook. My fiance liked it and I enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe!! I followed directions exactly; but used 1/2 teaspoon dried basil since I did not have fresh. Is definitely a keeper !! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. The flavor was perfect. The only changes I made were to add 5 or 6 leaves of fresh basil, I used an entire zucchini instead of half, marinated sun dried tomatoes and I used more parm. Oh and freshly ground pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was the best side dish I've made in a long time! I substitued 1 cup of low sodium broth with 1 cup of a dry white wine, which added a lot of flavor. I used dried thyme and basil and didn't miss the fresh herb taste. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
We really enjoyed this! A veggie dish that doesn't taste like it's missing meat at all. I doubled the onion, zucchini and sundried tomatoes and added a little garlic. It was nowhere near bland despite the fact that I forgot to add the thyme completely. My sundried tomatoes were marinated with herbs and that more than a made up for the lack of thyme. I like my veggies chunky and crunchy so I cut the zucchini into bigger bits, but I may slice them thinner next time, as the recipe suggest, as my boyfriend said the chunks reminded him of his childhood when he didn't like zucchini as a side dish. Fair enough. Will definitely make this healthy feeling and delicious risotto again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
WOW! I love risotti but I never thought of using sun-dried tomatoes in them! They really give a special kick to this creamy dish. I used feta because I had some that would have gone bad otherwise but I'm sure it's great with parmesan too. And I also like the fact that you can play on the zucchini/rice ratio to make it an healthier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Absolutely fantastic - the whole family and guest wanted more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I'm am generally not a big fan of risotto, but this is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States