Zucchini Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My husband is intolerent to wheat, cow's milk, and onions and I'm sure he's not the only one out there, which is why I decided to write this review. I made a few modifcations to the recipe so he could have it. First I made my own broth (good luck find pre-made broth with no onions), then substituted sunchokes for the onion, and used a vegan, non-dairy cheese in place of the cow's milk cheese. I have to say the end results was good and for those who are custom to eating non-dairy cheese it won't be bad. For those who haven't eaten non-dairy cheese, well all I can say is, be open minded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiec

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is a yummy recipe, and relatively light, compared to many other risotto recipes (for example, the one I usually use from America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook). The texture is really excellent. It's not QUITE as tasty as the one I usually make, so I took one star off. Also, you should REALLY like sundried tomatoes to make this- they are quite strong and the aftertaste can be a bit much for an otherwise mild dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezDani

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was the first risotto I ever made it was so easy and I make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Pretty good but made a huggggeee serving! I felt like I was eating this for weeks! Make sure to half if you don't want zucchini risotto up to your eyeballs! Pretty good though, no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Okay I thought I hated risotto because I associated it with being creamy and mushy and filled with mushrooms. But this is sooooooooo delicious. I don't like the photo that goes with this recipe because it makes it look really creamy and disgusting, which it is not. Look at some of the other photos for a better idea of the final product. I pretty much doubled all the veggies, as a lot of other people did. I didn't have any fresh basil but I know it would be amazing if you added that. Definitely don't skip the sundried tomatoes or the parmesan cheese; that's where most of the flavor comes from. Also as long as you are using a nonstick pan, don't worry about stirring continuously. Actually the first time I made it I read it wrong and dumped all the broth in at once and it turned out great. REALLY GOOD RECIPE! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My husband and I do not like sundried tomatoes so we used fresh tomatoes. It still tasted very nice but I would add extra tomatoes. They really do make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was delicious. I've never had risotto without adding white wine but I didn't miss it at all and it makes the dish cheaper. Remember to add the stock little by little - I use a soup laddle and once the liquid has absorbed I add another laddle full. I served with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Creamy and delicious, I used fresh picked cherry tomatoes cut in half with seeds removed instead of sun-dried and it was just as flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I had never made risotto before, but this was easy to make and so delicious. I added three cloves of garlic with the onions, added some sliced carrots along with the rice, and sliced the zucchini thinly with a mandolin. Since I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes on hand, I used a cut up fresh tomato. The combination of colors made an appealing dish. I cut the recipe in half for the two of us and had plenty for two main meals even when my husband had seconds. Liked the thyme/basil combo. Excellent dish and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Blah - someone left my tomatoes out and they rotted, so I couldn't use them! Other than that, the recipe is perfect. Everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States