Zucchini Ribbons With Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I had to make this dish 3 times before I felt I could give it an accurate review. The first time I made it as written and my family and I all felt it was just ok, but I liked the concept alot and the brightness of the red pepper against the goat cheese worked very well. Since we like veggies rather crisp, I made it again using my mandolin and cutting the zucchini strips 3/8 thick. That was just ok too. So the third time, I went back to the ribbons, eliminated the chicken stock and replaced the red pepper flakes with cayenne powder. I also added 2 more cloves of garlic and another tbs of EVOO and stir fried it. Tonight we all agreed this is very good. Since my changes were made to accomodate personal preference, I think the recipe deserves a solid 5 stars. Thanks for sharing, we will be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband and I are going low carb & gluten free and this side dish hit the spot as an accompaniment to an Italian chicken dish I make. I did use dried basil as opposed to fresh (seasonal thing) and parmesan cheese instead of goat (what I had on hand). My husband loved the heat that the red pepper flakes added; will definitely make this again. Thank you Sweet Basil for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I liked the flavors very well. Hubby said it tasted like a dish from Applebee's, but he couldn't remember what dish. He liked it. Crushed Red Pepper gave a nice little kick. Made the dish according to the recipe, including the goat cheese and shallots which I have never used before. I didn't know how much 2 large zucchinis would be, but used just one about 4" across and 18" long. The final dish was really full of liquid cooked to directions. I didn't want to cook them too long, and zukes always cook water out, so the dish had more liquid when done than when it started out, even with boiling. Goat cheese melted nicely and fresh basil gave a nice finish. All in all I will make again, leaving out the broth, and just do more of a stir fry like BigShotsMom. Great idea though, and thanks! 8/12/09-Read SweetBasils comments about amount, and I can say I definitely didn't have that much zucchini in the skillet which may have affected the outcome, and my veggie peeler is really small so the strips were skinny. We had as leftovers the next day and my MIL thought it was really good too! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Taking a smidge of liberty with this recipe, I created an amazing appetizer AND a main dish. Instead of breaking out the mandoline to make ribbons of the zucchini, I simply grated it then followed the rest of the cooking directions. I did add a hearty sprig of fresh thyme along with the shallots (fished it out before serving) as well as the submitter's recommended squeeze of lemon. Once finished, the squash took on a buttery, almost 'melty' quality without being overcooked and mushy. I served some atop toasted garlic-rubbed croistini with big Parmesan curls -- delicious. The remaining zucchini I mixed with cooked linguine (plus a bit of the pasta water to make a bit saucier) and topped with the fresh basil and goat cheese -- Wow. I'm now eyeing the two zucchini that are ~almost~ ready to be picked from the garden... Thanks so much SweetBasil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe-just wanted to clarify the amount of zucchini- you need approx. 4 cups of the ribbons (2 large or 4 medium zucchini). My original submission stated this, but was edited out. I also had shallots or onion could be used. Thanks to you who have tried it and made the suggestions and changes. The picture is beautiful! Little update-I made this again tonight and added the juice from half a lemon into the liquid-trying to cut back on salt. It was a great addition! Never let it be said we can't tweak our own recipes too for the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was very tasty. To us, the red pepper flakes contributed an essential flavor & piquancy. I made it as written, except I had to substitute a mixture of minced onion & extra garlic for the shallots. (I made this before SweetBasil, the recipe's submitter, wrote about the use of onions ~ I'm glad to know that was an intended option.) I cooked 4 cups of ribboned mature zucchinis in a large cast iron skillet. My zucchini dish never became watery (the broth evaporated quickly) - perhaps due to the use of mature zucchini and/or the skillet's heat retention & diameter. Nice to have another way to prepare zucchini with a different flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great recipe. I have made it as stated and also in a alternate version. Sauteed zucchini with olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and shallot. Finished it off with a sprinkle of lemon juice and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I added vegetarian soy "chicken". My (non-vegetarian) husband loved this, (but my kids didn't. Goat cheese melts fast, so wait until RIGHT before you serve it to make it taste the best. I also carmelized walnuts and added at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I did have to substitute dried basil for fresh. I'm not sure how much difference it would have made to have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States