Zucchini Ribbons With Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was just okay for us. I reduced the red pepper flakes a little to suit our tastes. I found the bites with the goat cheese to be the most flavorful; maybe I would have preferred to stir everything together to make some kind of goat cheese sauce instead of crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The recipe itself is okay, but I just found it to be a little bland (spicy, but not enough other flavor) and the texture of the zucchini ribbons was a little slimy for me. And I felt a little wasteful discarding the middle part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yowza, this was HOT! Next time I'll reduce the crushed red pepper flakes to a pinch, instead of .5 teaspoon; although the goat cheese was delish, the heat overtook us all, even hubster, who LOVES hot food. Will save with my notes, and I liked a new way to eat zukes without steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband and I are going low carb & gluten free and this side dish hit the spot as an accompaniment to an Italian chicken dish I make. I did use dried basil as opposed to fresh (seasonal thing) and parmesan cheese instead of goat (what I had on hand). My husband loved the heat that the red pepper flakes added; will definitely make this again. Thank you Sweet Basil for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great recipe. I have made it as stated and also in a alternate version. Sauteed zucchini with olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and shallot. Finished it off with a sprinkle of lemon juice and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Taking a smidge of liberty with this recipe, I created an amazing appetizer AND a main dish. Instead of breaking out the mandoline to make ribbons of the zucchini, I simply grated it then followed the rest of the cooking directions. I did add a hearty sprig of fresh thyme along with the shallots (fished it out before serving) as well as the submitter's recommended squeeze of lemon. Once finished, the squash took on a buttery, almost 'melty' quality without being overcooked and mushy. I served some atop toasted garlic-rubbed croistini with big Parmesan curls -- delicious. The remaining zucchini I mixed with cooked linguine (plus a bit of the pasta water to make a bit saucier) and topped with the fresh basil and goat cheese -- Wow. I'm now eyeing the two zucchini that are ~almost~ ready to be picked from the garden... Thanks so much SweetBasil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I did have to substitute dried basil for fresh. I'm not sure how much difference it would have made to have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I added vegetarian soy "chicken". My (non-vegetarian) husband loved this, (but my kids didn't. Goat cheese melts fast, so wait until RIGHT before you serve it to make it taste the best. I also carmelized walnuts and added at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was very tasty. To us, the red pepper flakes contributed an essential flavor & piquancy. I made it as written, except I had to substitute a mixture of minced onion & extra garlic for the shallots. (I made this before SweetBasil, the recipe's submitter, wrote about the use of onions ~ I'm glad to know that was an intended option.) I cooked 4 cups of ribboned mature zucchinis in a large cast iron skillet. My zucchini dish never became watery (the broth evaporated quickly) - perhaps due to the use of mature zucchini and/or the skillet's heat retention & diameter. Nice to have another way to prepare zucchini with a different flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States