Zucchini-Raspberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Besides for the fact I had the ingredients for this I was looking to use anyway, I just had to try this recipe given that only three people had reviewed it with very mixed reviews, averaging this out to a fairly low rating. I had to find out for myself! I agree with The Messy Cook wholeheartedly - this is a very nice bread with great raspberry/lemon flavor and the reviewer for whom this bread didn't rise probably didn't use self rising flour - or maybe it was OLD self rising flour. I left out the nutmeg and nuts and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for heightened flavor. I couldn't have been more pleased. It's moist, pretty with its flecks of zucchini and dots of raspberry, and the amount of cinnamon is just right. With zucchini so in season now, I hope others will give this recipe a try. It certainly is worth more than the 3-star rating it has right now. Great recipe reedfamilyof5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a lovely bread. If you don't have self rising flour, you can add 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt with all-purpose flour. The flavors blend beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this recipe in large muffin pans. (I use muffing pans for all my bread recipes because it works well for us as a family.) I also used regular flour but added the proper amounts of salt and baking powder to make the (self-rising flour). I also used one cup of frozen whole raspberries. We loved it. It was not soggy at all. I have been telling my neighbors all about this recipe and the blueberry recipe as I share my extra Zucchini with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I loved this. The only change I made was substitued 1 tsp lemon peel (which I didn't have) with 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I did not have self rising flour, but I put plugged it into the search line on allrecipes and the recipe popped up and I made my own!! Thanks for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My final product was a dense bread with a lemony raspberry taste. I didn't have lemon zest so I squeezed in a teaspoon of lemon juice and and half teaspoon of lemon extract. (Thanks to reviewer, Ann) I used frozen raspberries but thawed them first. Since other reviewer said the raspberries were tart I tossed them in sugar first. This will be a keeper for us. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I didn't have self rising so I used 1 tsp. b-soda. Also, our garden was all out of fresh raspberries and so I added our blackberries and 1 tsp. of lemon juice and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. It was YUMMIE!!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great, was upnorth and picked wild blackberries and used them,ty so much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Shegitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My fiance said this was the best bread I have made. Instead of shredding the zucchini I finely chopped it and the grated lemon peel is a must for the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this bread last summer as my DIL had lots of zucchini in her garden. It was such a big hit with my son, DIL & kids. I was hoping to find the recipe again since I didn't save it. There are blackberries in the freezer, so will try them instead of the raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. The first time I made it, I used all-purpose flour, so it came out like biscotti; the second time around, with the proper ingredients, it is amazing! Moist, light, and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States