Zucchini-Raspberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Besides for the fact I had the ingredients for this I was looking to use anyway, I just had to try this recipe given that only three people had reviewed it with very mixed reviews, averaging this out to a fairly low rating. I had to find out for myself! I agree with The Messy Cook wholeheartedly - this is a very nice bread with great raspberry/lemon flavor and the reviewer for whom this bread didn't rise probably didn't use self rising flour - or maybe it was OLD self rising flour. I left out the nutmeg and nuts and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for heightened flavor. I couldn't have been more pleased. It's moist, pretty with its flecks of zucchini and dots of raspberry, and the amount of cinnamon is just right. With zucchini so in season now, I hope others will give this recipe a try. It certainly is worth more than the 3-star rating it has right now. Great recipe reedfamilyof5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The flavor of raspberry,zucchini,and cinnamon with the nuts is very nice. The bread may be better if 1 tsp.baking powder and/or soda and a bit of salt were added. Too soggy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
i don't know what the other review was talking about. I love zesting things, so I was all for the lemon zest. And I was surprised by the raspberries and they complimented the bread well. And I think the other reviewer must have used regular flour instead of the self rising flour (which has baking powder and salt in it!). Do try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a lovely bread. If you don't have self rising flour, you can add 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt with all-purpose flour. The flavors blend beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great, was upnorth and picked wild blackberries and used them,ty so much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Shegitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this bread last summer as my DIL had lots of zucchini in her garden. It was such a big hit with my son, DIL & kids. I was hoping to find the recipe again since I didn't save it. There are blackberries in the freezer, so will try them instead of the raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My fiance said this was the best bread I have made. Instead of shredding the zucchini I finely chopped it and the grated lemon peel is a must for the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I can't believe that my friend and I are the only ones to have this problem: when made as written it is not a bread batter but just crumbly crumbs. I checked my Lemon Zucchini bread recipe (from this site) and it was very similar except it had twice the oil. So we doubled it here to get the right consistency. Otherwise yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My final product was a dense bread with a lemony raspberry taste. I didn't have lemon zest so I squeezed in a teaspoon of lemon juice and and half teaspoon of lemon extract. (Thanks to reviewer, Ann) I used frozen raspberries but thawed them first. Since other reviewer said the raspberries were tart I tossed them in sugar first. This will be a keeper for us. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. The first time I made it, I used all-purpose flour, so it came out like biscotti; the second time around, with the proper ingredients, it is amazing! Moist, light, and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States