Zucchini-Raspberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I loved this. The only change I made was substitued 1 tsp lemon peel (which I didn't have) with 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I did not have self rising flour, but I put plugged it into the search line on allrecipes and the recipe popped up and I made my own!! Thanks for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I did have self rising flour this time, which surprized me that the one recipe I would try would call for it. I made two loaves of this particular recipe, one with raspberries and one with blackberries. Only thing I did different was add a little vanilla, otherwise I followed the recipe exact. I think my zuke must have been wetter than last time because it did take another 20 minutes cooking time. Other than that, nice enough bread. Not outstanding, but a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I thought this was a nice variation of zucchini bread. I added baking powder and salt to all-purpose flour in place of the self-rising (as per the substitutions chart her on AR), and since I only had one small lemon on hand that yielded a scant 1/2 tsp. of zest, I went ahead and added about 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice, and I omitted the nuts. Make sure you squeeze as much liquid as possible out of the zucchini - the extra moisture will definitely affect the baking time. I did, and still probably baked this for a total of 45 minutes before a toothpick came out clean when inserted in the center. Since it's such a moist bread, let it cool before trying to slice. Flavor was very good - I liked the lemon, but found I don't like raspberries in baked goods all that much - I found them a bit too tart. Next time, I will use blueberries instead, but if you're a raspberry fan, please try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this recipe in large muffin pans. (I use muffing pans for all my bread recipes because it works well for us as a family.) I also used regular flour but added the proper amounts of salt and baking powder to make the (self-rising flour). I also used one cup of frozen whole raspberries. We loved it. It was not soggy at all. I have been telling my neighbors all about this recipe and the blueberry recipe as I share my extra Zucchini with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Besides for the fact I had the ingredients for this I was looking to use anyway, I just had to try this recipe given that only three people had reviewed it with very mixed reviews, averaging this out to a fairly low rating. I had to find out for myself! I agree with The Messy Cook wholeheartedly - this is a very nice bread with great raspberry/lemon flavor and the reviewer for whom this bread didn't rise probably didn't use self rising flour - or maybe it was OLD self rising flour. I left out the nutmeg and nuts and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for heightened flavor. I couldn't have been more pleased. It's moist, pretty with its flecks of zucchini and dots of raspberry, and the amount of cinnamon is just right. With zucchini so in season now, I hope others will give this recipe a try. It certainly is worth more than the 3-star rating it has right now. Great recipe reedfamilyof5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This recipe was ok. I think I'd use only cinnamin next time and maybe a vanilla. The nutmeg overpowered it. I also used regular flour and added just under one teas. of baking soda and just under 1/2 teas. of salt. The raspberries were a nice touch in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
i don't know what the other review was talking about. I love zesting things, so I was all for the lemon zest. And I was surprised by the raspberries and they complimented the bread well. And I think the other reviewer must have used regular flour instead of the self rising flour (which has baking powder and salt in it!). Do try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The flavor of raspberry,zucchini,and cinnamon with the nuts is very nice. The bread may be better if 1 tsp.baking powder and/or soda and a bit of salt were added. Too soggy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States