Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These sounded good, but after reading reviews, I made some modifications. I did not have baking mix, so used 1-1/2 C flour with 1tsp baking powder. Added 1/4 C of grated Parmesan and 2 tsp of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning, in addition to the onion and garlic. They turned out flavorful, but not spicy. Next time I will add more Tony Chachere's and sprinkle Parmesan on top when they come out of the fryer. Also, it did take me longer than 3 minutes to cook them. More like 5-6 minutes at 375 degrees. But they're a tasty twist for using zucchini, so will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Used panko instead of buttermilk mix. Delicious. Might do less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nela Ramirez
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have to find a great dipping sauce too next time but just used marinara this time. I will be making this again! It was really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nela Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe and it was AWESOME! I used flour instead of buttermilk flour and 1 egg. They were less puffy but very yummy. I'm going to serve th m to my Mom to see what she thinks ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
these were good, but definitely needed 'something' which I am not sure what that is YET. Also, if you are deep frying and the food is greasy 1. Oil is not hot enough or 2. you are putting in too many pieces and the the temp of the oil drops down to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe and we loved it. I used regular flour instead of buttermilk mix and it turned out fine. I tasted them after the first batch and thought they needed a bit more flavor, so I added a package of Hidden Valley Ranch, dry buttermilk ranch dressing mix. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent starter recipe for any combo of vegetables. I used summer squash (yellow) and diced it fine along with 1/3 cup minced onion, and a very large garlic clove. I substituted salt and pepper with Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper. You can use any buttermilk pancake batter with this. It is a generous 6 servings. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Oh My! Delicious! Very, very good! Made recipe as written. Again, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love garlic and onions, so I doubled the onions and actually used 6 gloves of garlic. Used WW flour (didn't have the buttermilk mix). Hubby and 14month old LOVED them. Great use of over-abundant zucchini. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I shredded the zucchini and kept pressing it between paper towels, changing the towels as they became wet for about an hour. I used 1 tsp. garlic and onion powder instead of the real thing (cuz that's what I had on hand). The batter was thick so I added just enough milk to loosen it up - maybe 1/4 cup at most. Fried them in my deep fryer and they were FANTASTIC! I served them with pork ribs that I had barbequed. The puffs were nice and fluffy and had a savory flavor. What really surprised me was how good they were cold! I had 4 left over and wasn't sure what I was going to do with them so I left them in a covered basket. About an hour later, I wanted a little something to munch on - these were great! My husband and I ended up finishing them off. This is wonderful alternative to the usual recipes for zucchini - will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States