Zucchini Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Deeply disappointed with recipes like this. What the heck is buttermilk baking mix??? There is absolutely no explanation or reference to what this is and where I can find it. I can see the reviews that say it is just flour and baking powder, but wish the recipe author would have broken it down all the way instead of me having to search it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
these were good, but definitely needed 'something' which I am not sure what that is YET. Also, if you are deep frying and the food is greasy 1. Oil is not hot enough or 2. you are putting in too many pieces and the the temp of the oil drops down to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe and we loved it. I used regular flour instead of buttermilk mix and it turned out fine. I tasted them after the first batch and thought they needed a bit more flavor, so I added a package of Hidden Valley Ranch, dry buttermilk ranch dressing mix. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a variation of a Russian recipe. The original Russian version is 2 zucchinis, 3 spoons of flour, 1 egg. Shred zucchinis, mix with the flour and the egg, fry in pan. It's great for kids, my two year old loves it and doesn't even suspect she's eating veggies :) Those of you who find the original recipe bland, try serving the patties with a drop of sour cream or tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent starter recipe for any combo of vegetables. I used summer squash (yellow) and diced it fine along with 1/3 cup minced onion, and a very large garlic clove. I substituted salt and pepper with Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper. You can use any buttermilk pancake batter with this. It is a generous 6 servings. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Oh My! Delicious! Very, very good! Made recipe as written. Again, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love garlic and onions, so I doubled the onions and actually used 6 gloves of garlic. Used WW flour (didn't have the buttermilk mix). Hubby and 14month old LOVED them. Great use of over-abundant zucchini. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I shredded the zucchini and kept pressing it between paper towels, changing the towels as they became wet for about an hour. I used 1 tsp. garlic and onion powder instead of the real thing (cuz that's what I had on hand). The batter was thick so I added just enough milk to loosen it up - maybe 1/4 cup at most. Fried them in my deep fryer and they were FANTASTIC! I served them with pork ribs that I had barbequed. The puffs were nice and fluffy and had a savory flavor. What really surprised me was how good they were cold! I had 4 left over and wasn't sure what I was going to do with them so I left them in a covered basket. About an hour later, I wanted a little something to munch on - these were great! My husband and I ended up finishing them off. This is wonderful alternative to the usual recipes for zucchini - will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
So I made four puffs as the recipe stated - frying them in hot oil - and they were yummy. They remind me of a hush puppy because they are more doughy more than zucchini-ish. Anyway, I do not own a deep fryer, and in a hurry, I just threw some oil in my cast iron skillet and tried to "deep" fry them that way. I ended up with a LOT of hot oil splatter, so I gave up on the frying and then dumped the remaining batter, along with a little shredded asiago cheese, into a greased pie plate and threw it in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes. This made an interesting dish - not eggy enough to be a quiche, and not dense enough to be a scone or biscuit, but something in between. It, too, was pretty good. Four stars because the batter does lack a bit of seasoning - the salt at the end saves it - the cheese is definitely a nice addition. My preferred recipe for zucchini cakes or fritters is "Zucchini Patties" from this site. Little more zucchini, less flour...Also good made with corn and red pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I wanted a new zucchini recipe and decided on this one. Sorry, just not as good as I had hoped. I added the cheese and extra salt. Still tasted too much like the baking mix, which is bland. I have a much better recipe using a shredded medium zucchini, potato, carrot and onion with only 3/4c flour. So much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States