Zucchini Pizza Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe very much. I like a spicier dish, so I always add garlic and red pepper flakes are a must. It is also great with hot italian seasoned turkey sausage. Basically, anything you like on your pizza would be perfect on the tasty zucchini base. I may try it next time with mexican seasonings in the beef and add beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Zucchini Pizza Bake Haiku: "Don't hate my review! I made the 'crust' more like - crust. But, O M G, Wow!" I knew going into this recipe, that no, I wasn't making a pizza-pizza, but the one major change that I did (b/c yikes, that was loads of cheese on the ingredients' list and I didn't want the base to be quiche-like!) was to drop the cheese from the zucchini part, save the parmesan, and sub 1/2 c. italian-seasoned breadcrumbs. Smooshing the zucchini mixture into a pie plate, across the bottom and up the sides, yielded a pie-ish crust that tasted so good! I followed the meat filling exactly, w/ the exception of adding garlic, and letting it simmer for about an hour before spreading it over the zucchini layer. Topped w/ mozzarella, monterey jack, mushrooms and olives and baked again resulted in an unusual, unique pie/pizza/casserole that we absolutely loved. I know that the taste remained, for the most part, what the recipe author intended, but I just felt that swapping cheese for breadcrumbs in the "crust" would hold up better to the meat sauce that was going on top. This was a great way to use up zucchinis (don't forget to drain and press out the moisture really well!), and even better, you can swap out any toppings as you would on a regular pizza. Thanks for a fun, delicious idea Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
It needs to be spiced up some. I would put pepperoni or ham on it next time. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manistique, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Tasty, but not exactly a crust. As long as you go into this meal expecting a casserole and not a pizza with a crust, you will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish, and not just because it used a lot of things that were about to go bad in my fridge! I followed the directions pretty much to the letter, except I put all the mozzarella cheese in the crust because I read it wrong. I added another egg to help it stick together, however, and it turned out great. I think the third egg really helped solidify the crust. It doesn't eat like a pizza, but I didn't expect it to, either. I would love to use this crust on other savory pies...I'm already thinking using it with a tomato pie. Great recipe, since you can totally use what you have on hand to make it work. I'm guessing the leftovers are going to be even better, so now I have something to look forward to at work tomorrow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
All the family really liked this, especially the unusual zucchini "crust." I used "spicy" spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce, which gave it a bit of nice kick! Next time I will add less ground beef (or none at all) and add more of other types of pizza toppings such as pepperoni, chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was a great recipe! I made a couple of adjustments based on what I had in the house. Used 3 eggs (needed to use them up). Instead of grated Parmesan, I used the large "flakes/chunks" which added some nice pockets of Parmesan flavor. Colby Jack instead of Monterey Jack. A jar of Ragu pizza sauce. Left off the peppers, mushrooms, olives. It was good the first night, leftovers were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
OOPS! I accidentally skipped the step where you drain the zucchini, but the good news is undrained- the crust part was enough for 2 pie "crusts". I used 1.5lbs of ground beef, and kept the rest the same as the recipe. I did add some sliced up turkey pepperoni and some salami under the cheese for more flavor. The "crust" came out nice and the fiance really liked this a lot! I thought it was just ok- but that could be because I didn't care for the gr beef I used. Will probably make this again and use a mixture of gr beef and sausage. Thanks for a great idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I'm always looking for ways to use up zucchini and this one was a hit! I will add different toppings next time. You can add whatever toppings you like and it would still be great! I like having the zucchini as the crust then you're not eating alot of carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
What a delicious way to add zucchini to a recipe. Yum ! Served it to company and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States