Zucchini Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this just for kicks...but it sure fooled the kids!! They all thought it was apple pie. Was fun to make...I would ommit the tapioka though, and go half with the cinamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was fabulous. Don't forget to peel the sues and cut them to the same size you would apples. Don't slice them, chunk them for nicer consistency. Cooks up so the zukes are still firm but tender. Might put in 3/4 to 1 cup sugar instead of just 3/4 cup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
awesome, tastes just like apple pie and the zucchini was apple slices consistency in texture. I followed the recipe with no changes; but a lattice top crust instead. My husband and I were totally amazed and had no problem finishing off this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was very good. I did peel the zucchini and added a cup of raisins it gave it great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was really, really good! I had so much zucchini and was desperately seeking recipes to slip them into as my family was so sick of eating them. I stumbled across this recipe and thought it was worth a try. My whole family loved it. We ate it with some vanilla ice cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great recipe. My husband forgot that it was zucchini pie and asked what kind of apples I used. Will make again as we always have lots of zucchini in our garden. Make sure to peel and seed the zucchini before slicing. I used all of a very large zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
It doesn't say to peel the zucchini, so I didn't since I'm trying to learn to follow recipes and not to cupboard cook so much. Well, my mistake for not thinking clearly. It does taste very good and it does need to be peeled for visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Just like Apple Pie! This was delicious and a great way to get rid of my extra zucchini. My husband hates zucchini. I made this and told him it was apple. He never knew the difference and LOVED it... he licked his plate! :-) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
very good it was different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Yes, it tastes just like an apple pie...My husband and kids don't care for pie crust, so I used graham crackers for the bottom "crust" and oatmeal/cinnamon/brown sugar/melted butter combo sprinkled on the top(like an apple crisp). I sliced the zucchini with a mandolin slicer so it was paper thin, but I think I'll try regular slices next time, for more of an "apple wedge" kind of texture. I will also try to use smaller zucchini to avoid some of the seeds, but no one seemed to notice. I microwaved the zucchini for a few minutes and added it hot to the sugar/cinnamon mix. It does taste just like apple pie (or apple crisp) and I am looking forward to trying it with splenda to make it a little more diet friendly! Thanks for a great recipe Sonya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States