Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, with the following small adjustments... First I used Bisquik heart smart mix as recommended by a previous reviewer, and it worked perfectly. I can see that cutting this amount in half as suggested by some could be really good too, though, and give the dish less of a bread-like texture and more of a quiche-like texture. Secondly, I added fresh chopped green chile for a little spice, and this was wonderful. Last, I chopped about 2 tablespoons of fresh basil and sprinkled it on top with an extra 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesean and it gave the crust a nice cheesy crust on top. (I added these with about 5 min of baking time left). This was a great dish and I will definitely make it again. Also, I'm glad that I chopped the zucchini because it still had a nice texture after baking 30 minutes, not mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I must of done something wrong it was bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I like the way this tasted. I used shredded yellow and green zucchini and peppers (red, yellow & orange). I also added a couple of sprinkles of a cheese blend (Fontina & Asiago) in addition to the 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese. Next time I'll add more cheese and maybe spinach. Like other reviewers suggested, I used less oil (olive). This took longer than 30 minutes to get done, closer to an hour or a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this EXACTLY as stated, except that I shredded 2 cups of the zucchini (diced the other 1 cup) and used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. It turned out really, really good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent. I used half the oil as well but added in some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Was very good... sorry I couldn't resist a tweak or two. Added diced ham, skipped the oil all together, and topped with some bread crumbs. Smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used up 4 cups of veggies including asperigus, red pepper, onion, snowpeas parsley,garlic. Fresh stuff. Going away on vacation so had to use them up. Then I used 3/4c aunt jemima pancake mix as I didnt have the baking mix requested. I added 1/4 cup cajun fish batter (dry) to spice it up. Added 1/2 cup swiss cheese and dollap of that so good french onion sour cream in the red container. Just a tbsp of olive oil. Made 15 cupcakes (regular cupcake pans). Baked 30 mins. Turned out perfect. Note that I did use my mini procecessor to cut the veggies small bits so that when I feed to kids, they may not be able to tell whats in it! Delicious and perfect for on the go breakfast. Veggie/egg muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Really good. I skipped the oil all together and it was great! I put in about one Tsp of garlic powder and salt to taste. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this for dinner .Its not pie its quich! Love it I added ham ,shedded chesse, and bread crumbs, cause i ran out of parmesan cheese. Love it thanks for sharing and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States