Zucchini Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These are delicious! I substituted instant mashed potato flakes for the flour, which I think makes for better taste and consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
723 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This is a very good recipe which I will definitely use again. After reading other reviews, I made a couple adjustments. I salted the grated zucchini first and let it sit in a colander to draw out the excess moisture. Then I patted it dry with paper towels. I also added some fresh chopped garlic and Italian-style bread crumbs to the mixture. Then, after forming the patties, I patted on more bread crumbs. They fried up nice and crispy. I served them with marinara sauce, which my husband and I both thought was the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
WOW! These are soooo good! Very easy to make. I tweaked the recipe a bit though since it seemed a little bland as is. I added some black pepper, parsley and garlic. I also threw in some chopped mushrooms since they go so well with zucchini. I think next time I'll try different cheeses and other complementary veggies like red bell pepper. These would probably go really well with some marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
601 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
These zucchini patties are AWESOME!! My husband and I both loved them--I can't wait to make them for others. I did tweak the recipe a bit and followed the suggestions of others. The liquid from the zucchini absolutely needs to be squeezed out to make this work--otherwise it will be much too runny. Here is what I did: used 3 eggs instead of 2 (i had a bit more onion and zucchini than what was called for), added 3 cloves of pressed garlic, a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes, 3/4 to a full cup of italian seasoned bread crumbs, and 1/2 c. of cheddar (on top of the other cheeses). Also, I lessened the amount of flour to maybe 1/4 c. Lastly, I sprinkled the patties with bread crumbs before frying. Will definitely make this again--can't wait in fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
These are great with the recipe as is, but they turn out a little better if you drain the excess water off of the Zuc first. I've also used just a Tablespoon of flour and a 1/3 cup of seasoned bread crumbs to replace the 1/2 cup flour, to add more flavor and they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Wow, what a great recipe for zucchini. We just ate these up. They even look just like potato patties. I made these even lighter by adding reduced fat shredded mozzarella cheese and frying them in a spray marjorine. I also added some garlic for extra flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will surely use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This recipe was simple and great tasting! What I also did was make the full recipe, made enough for my fiance and myself. Then I put the remining mixture back in the fridge to use again a few days later. It was fine, just drain the accumulated liquid from the settling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This recipe was great. I ommited the mozzarella cheese because I didn't have any on hand but they were still great. My husband loved them and told me I might have to make these every night! My sister and her 1 1/2 year old son loved them too. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
These were very delicious, my husband was surprised at how much he liked them! I did as someone else suggested and drained off all the extra juice I could from the zucchini and then placed it in some paper towels and squeezed out all the juice that was left. It helped make these patties nice and crispy with a yummy cheesy inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I make these patties all the time. For a more healthy way I bake them in a jelly roll pan at 375 for 20 min then turn them and bake for an additional 15. Time depends on your oven, the size of the patties and thickness. I spray the bottom of the pan with PAM. I squeeze as much water out of the zucchini as possible and I don't use salt. The salt makes the zucchini more runny. There is enough salt in the cheeses and you can always salt them after they are baked. I also use 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese and 1/2 cup of feta instead of the mozzarella cheese. These cheeses give the patties a better taste. I don't use any oil or flour in my patties. I use Italian bread crumbs I also double the recipe but don't double the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States