Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I made some changes to the recipe, and I was very satisfied with the results. I used one large, unpeeled, garden fresh zucchini (about 16" long). I cut off the ends, cut it in half, and then sliced it into long slices about 1/4" thick. (The next time I make it I will also remove the zucchini seeds.) I subtituted cottage cheese for the ricotta and egg beaters for the egg whites. Because I did not have fresh herbs on hand, I used one tbsp. of dried parsley and one tsp. of sweet basil. I used bottled spagetti sauce. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I only loosely follow recipes, as I did with this one, and it came out great. I didn't bother with the eggs or breading procedure at all. I used considerably more garlic and basil from the garden. I used only 2 cups of sauce and only 1 cup of ricotta as the recipe seems to call for far too much in my opinion. Though I'm not a huge fan of Italian food, this was probably one of the best dishes I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Mmmmmm, yummy! I've made this dish 4 times and everyone loves it. This last time I used cottage cheese because its a little bit healthier and less expensive than ricotta. We actually liked the cottage cheese better, you just need to drain out a little of the cottage cheese juice before mixing it up. Also I used dried parsley and basil and it still tasted great. Try this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried the zucchini slices instead of baking them...Don't do it! It took forever to fry everything up. I regretted not baking them...it would have been quicker and healthier. I also used an italian cheese blend instead of just mozzarella and felt the need to add more spices to the cheese and breadcrumb mixtures. And 2 Chernobyl sized zucchinis were more than enough. I also used 3 full eggs instead of 2 egg whites to coat the zucchini slices for breading and 3 full eggs instead of 6 whites for the cheese mixture. It was a lot of work; it tasted good; but I am struggling to say it was worth the work. I will try this again, but I will bake the zucchinis and maybe that will streamline the process enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Really tasty. We loved the breadcrumb topping. Filling but not heavy. However,15 mins prep time is not accurate... more like 30-40 mins. Overall, great, easy recipe, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Great way to use up those large zucchinis! I used cottage cheese, bottled spaghetti sauce and 3 whole eggs. Like lasagna, this serves up better if you give it 15 minutes to 'set' after coming out of the oven. In deference to husband, I replaced some zucchini slices with a couple pork cutlets - crumbed & baked alongside the zucchini, they turned out perfect. And adding meat meant it counted as a main dish :) Next time I'll reduce the parmesan in the crumbs, and use dried basil & garlic powder. To the cheese mixture I'm adding minced garlic, fresh basil, s&p, and the 1/2 cup of parmesan reserved from the crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was even better last night (the 2nd time I made it) Made my own version of 2 large servings, and it turned out less soupy. Used 1/3 cup dry bread crumbs, 1/3 cup grated Pecorino-Romano cheese (for the Parm), garlic powder, dried spices, 3/8 cup egg whites (divided), and 12 oz. zucchini. Really blotted the juice out of a cup of cottage cheese, and boiled an 8 oz. can of no-salt added tomato sauce to reduce it. Used 2/3 of a cup of a combo of mozzarella and provolone cheeses (ran out of mozzarella). Layered it in a glass loaf pan, and baked it 35 minutes at 400 degrees. IT WAS SUPER EXCELLENT--a little juicy on the bottom, but what else could one expect, with that layer of tomato sauce on the botton??? YUM, YUM, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the dish came out perfectly, with delicious breading and tender zucchini. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Colima, Colima, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was so good. I browned the breaded zucchini slices in a frying pan instead of baking them (sprayed each side with olive oil cooking spray). I also used 3 whole eggs instead of 6 egg whites in the ricotta mixture, and used 2 whole eggs for breading the zucchini. And I added some parmesan cheese to the ricotta cheese and used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. This is a great way to use up extra zucchini and would also be good with eggplant. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME. It is pretty quick to make, tastes FABULOUS, is filling, low carb and my family (including my 3 year old toddler) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States