Zucchini Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great base recipe. I cut my zucchini into rounds - takes less prep time and easier to serve. Also find that adding large pieces of fresh mushroom to the sause gives the texture of meat. Adding other vegetables, such as yellow squash or well drained frozen spinich adds additional color (just becareful of to much water content.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I adore this recipe. I added some garlic salt and oregano to the ricotta mixture and also added one small summer squash because I have a ton on hand. I love this and will be using up my zucchinis and summer squash on this recipe for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Donlon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great recipe. The only change I made (because I like to make the recipes as is before making any changes) was to add slices of fresh tomatos as an additional layer over the cheese. It was very satisfying and filling and made plenty for leftovers. I bet adding green or black olives would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Loved this recipe! I might have used more cheese (cause I didn`t measure it) which might have taken away some of the "healthiness" but this is delicious! I used dry spices cause didn't have fresh, used a classico tomato sauce (with basil), cottage cheese and whole eggs instead of egg whites (would not know what to do with all those yolks after), it is great! Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I have never been a big fan of zucchini, but this dish was absolutely delicious! My husband raved about it and was so happy that I made extras so he could take it to work with him for lunch. The only downside for me is that it takes quite a long time to make. It's easy, it just takes time. But the taste far outweighs any prep time that goes into making it. Definitely a recipe I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe but cut it in half for just two of us. And there is still plenty left! I did cut down on fat and calories by using low fat mozzarella cheese and fat free ricotta cheese which I dont usually do but with so many other ingredients, it tasted great! The only thing I will do different next time (and there will be a next time) is to add an additional layer of sauce. Very yummy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
GREAT! Really a "fool proof" recipe. Even though I usually grow my own zucchini, none this year. This recipe came via email and as we had to go shopping, my wife said let's try it! However, I forgot the size/number of zukes and got four medium sized; they were the perfect amount! OOPS! forgot the ricotta.. used 1% cottage cheese, drained. Followed all other instructions, baked a bit longer and VOILA! We're having leftovers (plan aheads by my in-laws speak) and expect to finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big philly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried the zucchini slices instead of baking them...Don't do it! It took forever to fry everything up. I regretted not baking them...it would have been quicker and healthier. I also used an italian cheese blend instead of just mozzarella and felt the need to add more spices to the cheese and breadcrumb mixtures. And 2 Chernobyl sized zucchinis were more than enough. I also used 3 full eggs instead of 2 egg whites to coat the zucchini slices for breading and 3 full eggs instead of 6 whites for the cheese mixture. It was a lot of work; it tasted good; but I am struggling to say it was worth the work. I will try this again, but I will bake the zucchinis and maybe that will streamline the process enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
It's pretty good! I topped it with more cheese instead of the bread crumb mixture. Great way to use up the garden zucchini! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NiftyImages.com
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
pretty good. i used more basil and more garlic. next time i try this i will add a zucchini and slice them thicker (half inch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NiftyImages.com
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States