Zucchini Oven Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Easy - yes. Way to use up garden veggies - yes. Will I make it again - nah. It was easy to do and was beautiful coming out of the oven. But even though I kind of figured it would be bland and therefore added spices to i, it was still pretty bland once it was all said and done. And it was really watery, and I didn't add that cup of water! Thank you, but not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was really good. I used portabella mushrooms because that was all I had. I sauted all the veggies in a little bit of oil until they were nice and tender. I only had medium eggs and it took 12 to adequately cover all the veggies--but I didn't really measure how much I used. I also just minced garlic and added that as I sauted. My niece and nephew (six and three) didn't really like it, but my husband and I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I prepared this for a Father's Day brunch and my guests loved it. I did't change a thing about it and everyone wanted the recipe. Will make this again. Thanks Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Good recipe. I added 1 extra egg, and used both zucchini and yellow squash. I also put in some parsley for extra flavor. I only had canned mushrooms, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This was excellent! Using all fresh summmer veggies is key. I prepared it differently than in the recipe. I sauted all the veggies together in the olive oil without butter or water. As others suggested I added extra eggs. I used a total of 10 whole eggs. I also added Emeril's original Essence instead of salt and pepper and monteray jack in place of the mozzerella and parm. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
My kids weren't a fan of this but they're all under the age of five so I'm not really expecting them to. However, my husband and I thought this was fantastic! I followed it to the letter except I used eight eggs, ommited the onions (I am allergic), and used a small can of sliced mushrooms instead of fresh (fresh ones go bad so quickly becuase of the heat and humidity and it's JANUARY!). I also used three types of cheese for the topping: mozzerella, monterey jack, and mild chedder. It was a hit! As soon as my kids learn to like it it'll be a five star recipe in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I, too, was confused by the recipe, and used my common sense that the eggs needed to be beaten first before stirring with the vegetables. With a few modifications, it was quite good. First, I took out the simmered vegetables so that they wouldn't get overdone, and added them back after the onionmushrooms were done. Like other reviewers, I also minced the garlic for flavor. I used 7 eggs (4 whole, and 3 whites), extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and added some italian seasonings (oreganobasil)towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
a great simple recipe.. i like my frittatas a little more complex.. but this is perfect for one of those "nothing in the house but..." mornings. i also realize ur site is a recipe site and not a cooking school site.. so i knew that my pan would HAVE to be oven proof to go in the oven! thanks.. keep the good stuff coming our way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
One of the few frittatas that doesn't have potatoes and it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I am at a loss as to why this recipe got such high ratings. Your instructions were not very clear that I should use an oven-safe iron skillet (which I don't have)...also, I have made fritattas in the past, and you scramble the eggs BEFORE putting it into the vegetables. Your instructions would make scrambled eggs, not the light, fluffy fritatta that I was looking for. I had to change this recipe on the fly to make it turn out half-way edible. Please improve upon your instructions...also, there is a mention of butter in the steps, but not in the ingredients...I am confused!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States