Zucchini Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Quiet and understated, yet full of fresh flavor - the perfect side dish for our Chicken Cordon Bleu. Attractive too. Added fresh minced garlic, butter along with the olive oil, and fresh parsley rather than dried. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Loved it! Used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil to saute the onions and zucchini. I added about 1 tablespoon of garlic to the onions after the onions cooked about 3 minutes. I also added a couple of teaspoons of grated lemon zest along with the parsley at the end. Really nice, fresh flavor. For those of you who found this to be bland, adding the garlic & lemon zest really does add a lot of flavor. Next time I will only make 8 ounces of orzo, as I had a lot left over (I could see it was too much compared to the onion/zucchini mixture - so I left a good bit out, which is fine, because I can use this in another dish. Maybe a nice orzo salad). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I started this dish much like the popular 'Orzo with Parmesan and Basil' (recipe by DODIEJER) by sauteing the dry orzo in the olive oil with the sweet onion (and a little minced garlic for good measure) until the orzo became light golden in color. The diced summer squash was added next; it took little time to cook as I added chicken stock much like one does when making risotto, just a cup (or so) at a time -- stirring and adding more stock until the orzo is cooked to desired doneness. I finished the dish with the lemon juice (and zest), the chopped green onion, fresh parsley and then adjusted the seasoning. VERY satisfying side, but a tad skimpy on the squash. I'll either decrease the orzo next time or double the amount of zucchini ... which will be NO problem when my garden starts producing that ubiquitous veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really nice, but light on flavor like many said. I started out by following the recipe exactly but then added 1tbsp worcestershire sauce to add flavor. I didn't love that with this so I will try another flavor boosting idea next time. Oh and I added minced garlic. I had mine with season salted added, DH added parmesan cheese to his. We'll try it again though - we didn't hate it, just needs a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was good. It has a very mild flavor and would pair best with something more boldly flavored. Although I was reasonably pleased with my results, I do think this recipe is poorly written. First off, what is the point of putting the cooked and drained orzo in a large saucepan? Why dirty another pan? Secondly, my zucchini were done in 8 minutes; they would have turned to mush after 15 minutes. And the volume of food this recipe produces would surely feed way more than 4 people. I reduced the amount of orzo significantly, using only about a third of the amount indicated. I also tossed in a pat of butter when adding the final seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Needed more flavor. Suggest adding salt and pepper earlier, then, when done, topping with Parmesan cheese. Another possibility is to add soy or Worcester sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This had absolutely no flavor. Would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was very bland as-is. I suggest making it the day before to let the flavors blend. I added lemon juice and zest, a good amount of sea salt, and some dried oregano and basil which gave more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really love orzo! I added some broccoli and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I could see myself using what ever veggies are on hand in the future, but the Vidalia onion was perfect. The veggies to orzo ratio was off, I will scale back the orzo to maybe a half cup next time. I put a splash of lemon juice on each serving but Parmesan would work too. Depends on the mood. This is a light side dish, it complemented our grilled salmon perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muddy Paws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States