Zucchini Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great side dish. We had it with our Easter ham. I only had zucchini, so I used 2 of them instead of the yellow squash. Also added some leftover broccoli and a tablespoon of butter melted in the drained orzo. Good light flavor. It would be easy to add garlic or other seasonings to modify the flavor, but I liked it fine as it I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I added a few chicken bouillon cubes to the lemon water. Finish off with a little salt before serving. Really delicious sweet/salty side dish even for those who don't like veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this! And so did my squash hating hubby! I admit, I seldom follow a recipe exactly so I kinda winged it. I added more zucchini than called for and summer squash too, added a bit extra lemon juice and lemon zest at the end and the freshly grated parm cheese is the key to getting it down my hubby. I salt my pasta water when cooking it and that really helps to flavor the orzo. Nice mild flavor, I'd bet even kids would love it if my hubby did. You could also add in some mushrooms and a sprinkle of cooked bacon to add another flavor. Love it so much that in fact, I am making it tonight as a side dish to burgers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roughcolliemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Really good! Used a good amount of lemon juice, Italian seasoning, and salt. Also poured a little good ev olive oil at the end. Really nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I was hoping I would disagree with the reviewers who said this was too bland because it just sounded good, but unfortunately it is indeed extremely bland. I put in extra lemon juice, extra olive oil, and went a little crazy with the salt and pepper, and it was still bland. So then I dumped in a bunch of Italian seasoning and topped it with a pile of parmesan cheese, and NOW it actually has some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I could see myself using what ever veggies are on hand in the future, but the Vidalia onion was perfect. The veggies to orzo ratio was off, I will scale back the orzo to maybe a half cup next time. I put a splash of lemon juice on each serving but Parmesan would work too. Depends on the mood. This is a light side dish, it complemented our grilled salmon perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muddy Paws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really love orzo! I added some broccoli and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was good. It has a very mild flavor and would pair best with something more boldly flavored. Although I was reasonably pleased with my results, I do think this recipe is poorly written. First off, what is the point of putting the cooked and drained orzo in a large saucepan? Why dirty another pan? Secondly, my zucchini were done in 8 minutes; they would have turned to mush after 15 minutes. And the volume of food this recipe produces would surely feed way more than 4 people. I reduced the amount of orzo significantly, using only about a third of the amount indicated. I also tossed in a pat of butter when adding the final seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I started this dish much like the popular 'Orzo with Parmesan and Basil' (recipe by DODIEJER) by sauteing the dry orzo in the olive oil with the sweet onion (and a little minced garlic for good measure) until the orzo became light golden in color. The diced summer squash was added next; it took little time to cook as I added chicken stock much like one does when making risotto, just a cup (or so) at a time -- stirring and adding more stock until the orzo is cooked to desired doneness. I finished the dish with the lemon juice (and zest), the chopped green onion, fresh parsley and then adjusted the seasoning. VERY satisfying side, but a tad skimpy on the squash. I'll either decrease the orzo next time or double the amount of zucchini ... which will be NO problem when my garden starts producing that ubiquitous veg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States