Zucchini Oatmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Delicious waffles! I took the advice of some of the past reviewers and pureed the zucchini for a smoother texture. I also used buttermilk instead of milk, and I found the batter to be just right in consistency. I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I used bananas instead of zucchini. And I left out the cinnamon too. So delicious. I warmed up some syrup and mixed in some peanut butter to make a peanut butter syrup. What a treat! I will try the recipe the way it is when I have zucchini to use up. Can't wait! What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good. Modified a bit by soaking old fashioned oats in wet ingredients first. Added about another half cup of milk to loosen up the batter. Also used summer squash and apple grated with zucchini for 1 cup of the mixture. Froze the rest in 1 cup bags to be able to quickly mix another batch. Very good and a great use of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
For me, I made waffles and they seemed a bit heavy and I would recommend doubling the cinnamon. Still, they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Really enjoyed these, knew they were more like zucchini bread than crispy waffles from the reviews. I made 1/2 the recipe and it made 2 belgian waffles and one was quite filling. I added about a Tablespoon each of wheat germ and 7 grain cereal, more cinnamon and used coconut oil instead of butter. Love that these have oats and whole wheat and a veggie. I love quick breads, so this is a good substitute in the hot summer and also good portion control. Thanks for posting and for the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen M Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I modified the recipe a little to make it appetizing for my kids because I wasn't sure how they would respond to the shredded zucchini. So I put the liquid ingredients in the Vitamix until they we're well blended. Then poured the wet ingredients into the dry and hand stirred until well blended. I used 1/4 less flour and about a tablespoon more milk to make the mix less thick. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I don't have a waffle iron. Has anyone tried these as pancakes? Sounds really yummy and zucchini season is here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
If you like zucchini bread, you should like these waffles. The batter is thick but that may be because I like to soak the oats in the milk to soften before adding the rest of the ingredients. With the abundance of zucchini in the garden, this is a good option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I searched this recipe to use up some garden zucchini and the whole family enjoyed them. My six year old was less than enthusiastic to try but enjoyed them immensely, announcing that you couldn't even taste the zucchini, which I found to be true. They never crisped up very well like regular waffles, but maintained a more bread texture which was fine with us. I also found the batter to be pretty thick for the waffle iron so after the first batch I ended up adding extra milk to the mixture. I dumped a lot of cinnamon in as is my style but next time I'm going to take my love of spices to a new level and add cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger. I do this to all my banana/zucchini/pumpkin breads and it has never failed me. We served them with maple syrup warmed with butter and a side of grilled peaches. It was a delicious and filling breakfast. Oh yeah, I also used whole spelt as I try not to use wheat in my baking to avoid possible future food intolerances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Enjoyable enough. Will keep these in mind for days when there is simply too much zucchini in the house. / Though we love banana & chocolate chip pancakes or waffles, this recipe seemed a bit heavy for our taste...., *****but then again****, we might need to give them a second chance, since my family made these up for me on my teaching night...., and they used baking soda instead of powder - and yes, we made them as pancakes since that was easier for them (yes, we could taste the baking soda a tad more than I'd like, but overall, the flavor was nice in spite of the error). Will try to post a follow up if we try these again with baking powder. I am definitely saving this recipe, even though I'm not sure it's a high priority to want to eat these again, but mostly because it's a nice alternative for using up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States