Zucchini Oatmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good. Modified a bit by soaking old fashioned oats in wet ingredients first. Added about another half cup of milk to loosen up the batter. Also used summer squash and apple grated with zucchini for 1 cup of the mixture. Froze the rest in 1 cup bags to be able to quickly mix another batch. Very good and a great use of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
For me, I made waffles and they seemed a bit heavy and I would recommend doubling the cinnamon. Still, they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Really enjoyed these, knew they were more like zucchini bread than crispy waffles from the reviews. I made 1/2 the recipe and it made 2 belgian waffles and one was quite filling. I added about a Tablespoon each of wheat germ and 7 grain cereal, more cinnamon and used coconut oil instead of butter. Love that these have oats and whole wheat and a veggie. I love quick breads, so this is a good substitute in the hot summer and also good portion control. Thanks for posting and for the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen M Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I modified the recipe a little to make it appetizing for my kids because I wasn't sure how they would respond to the shredded zucchini. So I put the liquid ingredients in the Vitamix until they we're well blended. Then poured the wet ingredients into the dry and hand stirred until well blended. I used 1/4 less flour and about a tablespoon more milk to make the mix less thick. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I don't have a waffle iron. Has anyone tried these as pancakes? Sounds really yummy and zucchini season is here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
If you like zucchini bread, you should like these waffles. The batter is thick but that may be because I like to soak the oats in the milk to soften before adding the rest of the ingredients. With the abundance of zucchini in the garden, this is a good option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I searched this recipe to use up some garden zucchini and the whole family enjoyed them. My six year old was less than enthusiastic to try but enjoyed them immensely, announcing that you couldn't even taste the zucchini, which I found to be true. They never crisped up very well like regular waffles, but maintained a more bread texture which was fine with us. I also found the batter to be pretty thick for the waffle iron so after the first batch I ended up adding extra milk to the mixture. I dumped a lot of cinnamon in as is my style but next time I'm going to take my love of spices to a new level and add cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger. I do this to all my banana/zucchini/pumpkin breads and it has never failed me. We served them with maple syrup warmed with butter and a side of grilled peaches. It was a delicious and filling breakfast. Oh yeah, I also used whole spelt as I try not to use wheat in my baking to avoid possible future food intolerances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Enjoyable enough. Will keep these in mind for days when there is simply too much zucchini in the house. / Though we love banana & chocolate chip pancakes or waffles, this recipe seemed a bit heavy for our taste...., *****but then again****, we might need to give them a second chance, since my family made these up for me on my teaching night...., and they used baking soda instead of powder - and yes, we made them as pancakes since that was easier for them (yes, we could taste the baking soda a tad more than I'd like, but overall, the flavor was nice in spite of the error). Will try to post a follow up if we try these again with baking powder. I am definitely saving this recipe, even though I'm not sure it's a high priority to want to eat these again, but mostly because it's a nice alternative for using up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Substituted Applesauce for butter and 1/4 of eggs. Next time - follow recipe a bit closer - would be nice to bring out zucchini flavor more. But not sure how to do this. I rate these highly because they have so many good healthy things - zucchini, oats and whole wheat flower. I think next time I'll just substituted 1/2 the butter for a little more flavor. I added twice the cinnamon as suggested, but I'm going to add 4x the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These had the slightest zucchini bread taste. I served them with buttermilk syrup, but they would be great with maple as well. Next time I'll up the cinnamon for more of that zucchini bread flavor. I used whole wheat pastry flour for a more tender texture. This recipe makes 4 belgian waffles (4 cups batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States