Zucchini Nut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Used mashed bananas instead of shortening, and then I added some ground flaxseed chocolate chips.... The cookies were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
A friend had given me some zucchini a week or so ago. I grated and premeasured what I didn't use and froze in zip lock bags of 1 cup each. I used a bag of frozen zucchini for this recipe. It turned out AWESOME! Everything was according to the recipe. I used all the liquid that came out of the frozen zucchini. However, I did skip the raisins because I don't care for them in cookies. Thank you Maureen Pruitt for such an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by photoang23
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were great! We have an abundance of zucchini in our garden and this was a great way to use it up. The cookies came out cakey & moist. We all loved them. The only thing I would add is a 1/2 a cup of oats. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photoang23
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
A keeper for the recipe box! I made these with butter and substituted walnuts for the raisins (love nuts in my baked goods). They were EXCELLENT! Nice and moist with great flavor and texture. I was a little leery of the cloves so I used a scant 1/2 tsp but ended up loving the depth of flavor it added. Also, I usually don't care much for cake-style cookies but these were a definite winner that I'll make many times in the future (have to use up all that zucchini from the garden, oh darn!!!). Quick note about baking time - pull them out just as they barely start to get some color. They stay very moist that way. LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These are addictive! I left out nuts and rasins, subbed 1/2 the shortening for butter, and used ww flour..oh, and I added vanilla. My 1 yr old signed "more" for the first time ater a test bite of this cookie. I loved them , too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My husband and I loved them! I left out walnuts and cloves because I didn't have them and they were fantastic. Thanks for a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe is GREAT! I used butter instead of shortening - same quantity - and used garam masala (an indian spice mixture) instead of the cloves and nutmeg. The dough is definitely dry and crumbly, but I think this is because the zucchini gets so wet - other zucchini recipes I've made do not account for this and are too sticky and soft. This is a great recipe and (considering I've got a zucchini in the kitchen that's about the size of my thigh!) I will make it again - and again - and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oberlin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I could taste the clove too much, followed other's advise and added some icing, helped alot! Loved the use of zucchini in the spice cookie. I used 1/2 oatmeal instead of the flour,,, not sure if that was my problem, but they were very very soft, could not be picked up in one piece till they set out for 24 hours uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe is a nice way to help use up the garden's bounty! I think the cookies benefit from the addition of cream cheese icing, which I did add and everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made these to-day and doubled the recipe because I had frozen my grated zuccini in 2 cup packages *g*. The cookies were quite good. I found them to be rather lacking in sugar, but that is probably me and my idea of cookies. Next time I will add extra sugar. I added a cup of chopped dates because I had them here...... I will make these again, but add extra sugar and probably step up the spices by 1/4 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States