Zucchini 'Noodles' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I love zucchini "noodles", but this recipe can be simplified. Just use a potato peeler to make thin strips (discard the core/seeds), and sauté in a little olive oil. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper to taste, and add sauce or grated Parmesan as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I have always admired this when I've seen it done in restaurants so I was happy to find this recipe so I could duplicate it at home. Cooking time will vary depending on the thickness of the "noodles" and in my case one minute was too long. I sliced the zucchini very thinly with a mandoline and, while I was happy with how that turned out, I found the one minute of cooking time in the boiling water made them limp rather than the crisp tender I was after. Next time I'll shorten that to maybe half that long, skip the step of continuing cooking in the skillet in the butter and garlic, and just simply toss the zucchini in that mixture instead. Great potential in this recipe that I'm looking forward to getting right the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Yummy idea! It got me looking up all kinds of zucchini pasta ideas and recipes. I omitted the last step, just drained it well and served it with marinara sauce. It was fantastic.(Marinara sauce: sautéed onions with barest spray of oil, then added a can of whole tomatoes to the pan, a lot of basil, a bit of oregano, salt and pepper to taste and a couple tbsp of splenda, simmered till it was thick in consistency) For cheese, my bf used some parmesan and I used some low fat mozzarella. Very yummy, very low calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I was aiming to make these as healthy as possible, so I just boiled them until they were cooked enough for me, drained, salt and peppered, sprinkled on parmesan cheese. I ate this with Marinara Sauce II. Delicious! Lucky me, I have enough left for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I wasn't looking to use this as a noodle base for sauce, but rather as a simple veggie accompaniment. It was perfect. Wonderful flavor that I don't think I would WANT to mask with a sauce! I made my slices on the thick side, and the cooking method as such was spot on. They were beautifully bright green and crisp. I sauteed them in olive oil rather than margarine. P.S. This is the recipe that made my (normally zucchini averse) children clean their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used my vegetable peeler and made strands that way. I skipped the butter step at the end, and just sprayed with a zero calorie spray margarine. I topped with jarred fat free spaghetti sauce, and it was the best, most filling lunch I have had in a long time. I am not ashamed to admit that I am going to have it again tomorrow too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was a great alternative to eating my spagetti sauce with rice. The zucchini has great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I grated with a potato peeler and sauteed in olive oil and butter; salt and pepper and topped with my own version of healthy spaghetti sauce including red peppers, mushrooms, onion, garlic and jarred sauce. Soooo gooood! Thank you all recipes...couldn't find it anywhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is one of those simple dishes you can whip up in no time, and I cooked mine for the time stated in the recipe. Since my garlic was no good, I used a little sweet onion instead and seasoned the "noodles" with garlic salt, pepper, and Italian seasonings. Perfect with a dusting of Parmesan cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Very good! Next time I will let the zucchini sweat for a little longer than 30 minutes. I cut my zucchini by hand (I really should get a mandoline slicer!), so it wasn't all that thin, but the recipe worked very well anyway. I served it with 'Simple Arrabbiata Sauce' over top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States