Zucchini Miso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Delicious! The only thing I changed was using raw honey instead of brown sugar. Very good! I will make this again with all our fresh zucchini this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
LOVED this! I substituted vegetable broth for chicken and pure maple syrup for brown sugar; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was delicious. You could probably omit the broth (which I think is used more to thin the miso than for flavoring), because once the dressing sits on the zucchini, it thins quite a bit. This is great with just the sauce and the zucchini, but the almonds and nori complete it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Paired with some seared tuna, soy dipping sauce and sticky rice, this recipe was delightful. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was quite good. I agree about omitting the chicken broth- it seems to get quite runny and would probably be better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I skipped the sesame seeds and nori for ease, and this was still a winner. It was slightly salty for my tastes (a function of the miso, as far as I can tell) but otherwise great. Also, I mixed all the dressing ingredients except the broth together, then eyeballed the amount of broth to get the desired consistency (since other reviewers had warned 1/4c was too much). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I love, love, love this! I will definately make it again. I used half zucchini and half yellow squash (just because I like it better) and it was great. I also sauteed the squash combo in just a bit of wok oil for only a couple of minutes before tossing it with the dressing, scallions, cilantro, sesame seeds and nuts. I also used pre-toasted sesame seeds and I thought they were fine! The combination of ingrediants is really fantastic! Everyone complimented it at the dinner table! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyofRedHeads
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Not the biggest Miso soup fan, but love all the other ingredients so I thought I should give it a try. My only concern when making this was which size nori sheet was called for. I live in Japan where there are many options so I just ended up using one onigiri (riceball) sized sheet of nori. Worked great. I think they also sell thin slices of it at the store and may try that to cut down on prep time. Made to a T except I have already toasted seeds on hand and accidently added it to the dressing instead of sprinkling on top (won't make that mistake next time). I tossed the zucchini into the dressing then scooped them out of the dressing and into the bowls. Next time I'll omit the chicken stock, it's not needed. We loved the flavors, everything just complimented each other so well. Easy, tasty, and looks great. I'll be making this for quests at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious! I get asked to make this recipe for parties. The hardest part is prepping the zucchini (I julienne it) and figuring out what to do with the rest of the leftover miso paste (I can only find 16oz jars of the stuff). I use Dashi flavored miso and omit the sessame (I love the seeds but I never have them at home) and often time I forget to put in the nori. If you are apprehensive about eating zucchini raw - DON'T BE - it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I thought this dish was interesting, but i probably wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
zucchini gave bitter taste. I prefer to use Japanese cucumber over raw zucchini. Japanese cucumber is good with miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States