Zucchini Mediterranean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was actually a hit with my meat-and-potatoes husband! I'm a lone plant-based girl in a family of 4 and am constantly trying to slip in veggie/vegan main dish options (putting them on the table with little fanfare so as not to scare anyone off). My husband actually finished it and asked for more - yahoo! As others have said, this is a fairly mild recipe, however that's just what I needed. I served it over brown rice (and will definitely be making it again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I modified this recipe some- Cooked the rice with chicken broth and added about 2-3 Tablespoons of balsamic vinegar to the vegetables. I also used fresh tomatoes and cooked vegetables just until soft. Topped with Parmesan cheese to serve. It was a huge hit with my husband and son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This dish was a complete disappointment. It was horribly bland and needed a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a nice, summery meal. I didn't want it to be so mushy, so instead of a can of tomatoes I used chopped real tomatoes which cooked down nicely but not into complete liquid. Used much greater amounts and variety of dried herbs and chucked in a few black olives for good measure. I think this would be really good with a splash of white wine in the sauce. Actually, I wish I had a chilled glass of wine to go with it, it's one of those dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Really easy to make, doesn't require that many ingredients and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was alright and certainly was healthy but it was a little bland for my taste. The only real substitution I made was using fresh tomatoes instead of canned (which I do for most recipes). If I made this again I would definitely try to work with adding some different spices to give it a little more flavor. It just needs a little bit of help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The basic sauce recipe yields a simple pasta sauce similar to pasta primavera. However, we didn't quite follow the recipe. Basically I forgot to add the beans and decided to do the zucchini as spears instead of diced. Anyway, here's what we did... We followed the basic sauce recipe with the exception of the beans and zucchini. The Zucchini was caramelised in butter and brown sugar with slivers of ginger. Serving was simple. 2 spears of zucchini over a bed of rice with some of the brown sugar sauce (be careful, this will start to turn into caramel when removed from the heat. If you keep stirring the liquid that separates from the caramel is used,) poured over them with the main sauce spooned between the spears and over the rice. The main sauce would probably have worked better if grape/cherry tomatoes were used as the base with chopped sun-dried tomatoes added in the last few minutes, as their tartness would have countered the sweetness of the zucchini more completely than the sauce as is did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
LOVED THIS! This is definitely something I will make again and again. I made a few modifications - I added a cup of spinach, canned mushrooms, olives. I decided to use diced tomatoes instead of whole, just out of preference and instead of cannellini beans I used garbanzo instead. It was DELICIOUS! So simple and easy to make. Next time I think I'll try using brown rice instead of white to make it a bit healthier. Looooved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is a really good 'basis' recipe! I added crushed red pepper also for kick, some fresh chopped parsley (cause it was going bad!) and a can of mushrooms. Perfect recipe for a chilly.cold night!! Very warming - will cerainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States