Zucchini Lasagna With Beef and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was excellent! I used a larger pan because I like to have plenty of room without the lasagna bubbling over. I also used about 4 med. zucchini just sliced as thin as I could. Didn't salt or precook them. Used 1lb each of Italian sausage and hamburger and threw in some mushrooms cause I love them! Besides that, I did the recipe exactly as written. Loved it! Next time I might use a bigger container of ricotta since I used a bigger pan. And I did cover with foil for about the last 20 min of baking, but took that off again when adding the last layer of foil. This recipe is so worth the time and effort. Thanks Jeff B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I loved it and will be making it again. I made it vegetarian and left out the meat but added mushrooms. Very good, i didn't even miss the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My family loves it!! Better than the regular lasagna noodle. I'll be doing this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this in a 10X15 glass casserole dish, I never seem to have enough room in a 9X13 for lasagnas. I used a Julienne vegetable slicer to slice my zucchinis, so they were quite thin, and I didn't do any of that pre-cooking or salting them. 4 medium zucchinis made three nice layers with no problems, and I kept the seed slices in there also. I had some homemade marinara sauce, about three cups, so I used that with the diced tomatoes, and only a small can of paste, since I had a larger casserole dish. The instructions for layering are well written, so many lasagnas are confusing when it comes to the layers. Someone complained about the prep, but I did all that in the time the meat and sauce was simmering, a really good lasagna is worth the extra time it takes to prep. We really loved it and you don't miss the noodles at all...will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
To be honest this recipe is very delicious but extremely time consuming! Also unless you have found extremely large zucchini to use you will need WAY more then three!! I would also recommend using a mandolin to cut the zucchini so you will get even pieces. I used a peering knife as suggested and it was tedious and frustrating. I am not sure in what world would it take 30 mins prep time since it is all home made and you have to chop and cut everything including the spices. The sauce alone takes 30 mins of cooking time. Once was all said and done it was very good. If I were to ever make it again I would make those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this exactly like the recipe called for the first time. It was great! The second time, left out the sugar and red pepper flakes and I added fresh spinach. It was even better. The third time, I added fresh spinach and sour cream (16 oz divided in 1/2)with 1/2 on top of each layer of spinach and spread over spinach. The layers went like this: zucchini, ricotta, mozzarella, meat sauce, spinach, sour cream. Repeat. Let me say that the dear husband and the cute little munchkins wanted more and there was none--I mean none-left for the week--which is what I was hoping for lunch leftovers. I am thinking a repeat for next week! Yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was awesome! Make sure to salt the zuchinni slices to get as much liquid out as possible before building the dish! Delicious! I've already shared the recipe with several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is very good! We love it. I will make this using eggplant instead of zucchini sometimes too. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Im Not A Fan Of Zucchini & Beef, But It Turned Out Fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I roasted the squash first and then used it instead of noodles. Pretty good, but not significantly healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States