Zucchini Lasagna With Beef and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Holy... wow. I loved this. Yes, it's time consuming (but making food this good at home is usually worth it to me) I mistakenly cut the zucchini widthwise instead of lengthwise using a mandolin instrument. It just took a bit longer to do the layers. I did not roast the zucchini, and I'm okay with it being a little watery. It wasn't gorgeous, but wow. So good. I couldn't find bulk Italian sausage (all they have are links where I am? ) so I substituted ground lamb for the sausage and added a small amount of fenugreek with it. It was excellent. I might try some of the other iterations of this recipe next - love the idea about sour cream and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Best flavor ever! The seasonings in this dish are superb, my husband and I both loves the flavor. I am in the process of making number 6 and 7 to put in the freezer, I already thawed one to see how it re-baked and it was as good as fresh. I made a couple of modifications, no beef-just sausage and fresh Asiago rather than ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by strwbrrysublime
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Sooo delish!! Kids approved too!! I have so many zucchini in my garden, I don't know what to do with them! This was the perfect recipe! Loved it, and will definitely make it again! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and half of the zucchini for eggplant and decreased the amount of salt a bit. Still was a little salty, but loved the flavor of the meat sauce. Good recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
If you have the time and patience it is well worth It took my wife and I 45min prep time 90min bake time 15min cool down it is so good we well be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great recipe! My noodle loving family didn't miss noodles. I used all Italian sausage, no beef. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and used spinach instead of parsley in the cheese, egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is the best lasagne I've ever had. Made exactly to the recipe. Everyone loved it, including my non-veggie eating teenaged boy. Will make a few to vac seal and freeze for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great. Followed the recipe as much as a could with the ingredients we had, such as two yellow squash and one zucchini. The yellow squash were good for the bottom layer because they were thicker. Used light ricotta but the mixture with the egg and Romano cheese and fresh parsley was divine. Also used jarred Healthy Delight sauce but added the recipe's garlic, pepper flakes, and fresh basil and oregano. It was wonderful. I was just amazed that everyone loved it. Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was excellent! I used a larger pan because I like to have plenty of room without the lasagna bubbling over. I also used about 4 med. zucchini just sliced as thin as I could. Didn't salt or precook them. Used 1lb each of Italian sausage and hamburger and threw in some mushrooms cause I love them! Besides that, I did the recipe exactly as written. Loved it! Next time I might use a bigger container of ricotta since I used a bigger pan. And I did cover with foil for about the last 20 min of baking, but took that off again when adding the last layer of foil. This recipe is so worth the time and effort. Thanks Jeff B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I loved it and will be making it again. I made it vegetarian and left out the meat but added mushrooms. Very good, i didn't even miss the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States