Zucchini Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wonderful!! EASY!!! People won't believe this is made with Zucchini! You can be creative with this, use different flavors of jello. I've made strawberry (my favorite), peach (not bad) and grape (imho - NASTY!! tastes like the mix for grape koolaid, no water, just the powder. But, I am not a big grape person, so you may like it). I'm not sure what the poster did who said you need to add pectin to this recipe it's plenty thick as is. It is runny when you can it, but after it sits it thickens up nicely. Think about how runny jello is when you first make it. I have noticed when I pull a jar out of my cabinet it is less firm than when I use it after it's been refrigerated. So no, DO NOT ADD PECTIN TO THIS RECIPE!! Otherwise you wont' be able to use it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great jam for those with a sweet tooth. I only put 4 cups of sugar for 6 cups of zucchini, and it was delicious. You don't need pectin if using the right quantity of jello: a 6oz box is the large box of jello (170g); the regular box of jello is 85 grams=3oz. If using the smaller box, you will need two boxes to make one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
WAY too much sugar. I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and used sugar-free jello trying orange,strawberry or raspberry. It set up beautifully with NO need for pectin. One pint even sealed without hot-water bathing. (I planned on trying it the next morning so I just left it on the counter overnight and in the morning it was sealed.) I would call it marmalade, though. I put orange zest in one batch and it was wonderful. A bigger can of crushed pineapple didn't hurt anything. I probably cooked it for about an hour. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pembine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I thought the taste was amazing and Mine set up pretty good. I did change mine up a bit . I took out pineapple added 20oz of apple sauce added cinnamon and nutmeg and used jolly rancher green apple jelly this was amazing especially if you like apple jelly,butter etc it turned out good. Made one batch following recipe it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This recipe is good, never know zucchini is in it I have made a bunch of it kids and everyone loves it. Can't get it to set following this recipew ouldn't set tried it a few times just to make sure it wasn't a one time thing and they stayed very runny I was told by veteran canner that you have to add some pectin in it to get it to set right. Not sure what I am missing but have followed the directions exactly and it always stays runny. Tastes good but comes out more like a Zucchini jelly soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
LOVE IT. Last double batch had 3 cups sugar per batch. I didn't have enough lemon for 1 cup, so added in lemon zest. This is very good. You do have to cook it for a bit longer that called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This Jam is super easy, tastes great and will be a for sure add to our famly canning. Tripled the batch and used strawberry jello. I think we will have to try a few others as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I used up the last of the Zucchini from my garden yesterday with this delicious recipe. I did not need pectin like another poster recommended. I did boil the mixture for a good 45 minutes and I used less sugar (about a cup less) and it came out perfect! Also I did not peel the zucchini since they were not tough skinned. I will definitely put this recipe in my keeper box! I did use a box of strawberry & a box of lemon and I look forward to experimenting with more flavors next season :>) Thank you for this wonderful keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I have made this twice. Both times I used the 20+ oz. can of pineapple. Drain the can a LOT. And if I had it to do over, I would have reduced the sugar. Really sweet the second time because I ran out of lemon juice and finished it with key lime juice. It doesn't give you a time on how long to cook it. Mine was two to three hours. And I thought it might have too much liquid so I boiled uncovered. If it looks like about four cups when you are done, throw in the gelatin. If it looks like more, then you may have to add pectin to get it to jell. The first time I didn't peel or seed. Worked fine and it's Christmas colors! But I took it to work and every body loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a great and easy recipe. I did cut the sugar to 4 cups but that was the only change. Set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennJenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States