Zucchini Grinders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe as is, because we still have so much zucchini from our garden, and then tried it again with a little more pizazz! I added chopped mushrooms and onions to the zucchini when I was browning it, plus some garlic and balsamic vinegar close to the end. Then I used a chewy foccacia loaf instead of a plain white loaf, and baked it open face in the oven Good stuff!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshBaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My boyfriend and I loved this! I added some onions while i was frying the zucchini and i diced up some tomatoes to add. I made quesadillas instead of sandwiches because I didn't have rolls and they came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I prepared this as a casserole instead of a sandwich, but I'll definitely try the 'grinder' version! I Added diced onions as quite a few reviewers suggested; also added a few cloves of fresh garlic, fresh basil, oregano and curly parsley from the garden; Left out the cheese; substituted a can of 'diced tomatoes w/ roasted garlic and onions' for the sauce, then baked uncovered in a casserole dish for 15 minutes at 350 F. I sprinkled the top with freshly grated Parmesan cheese and returned to the oven for another 5 minutes, then served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I altered this a bit. I sautéed zucchini, mushrooms, onion and garlic. The crushed red pepper is a must! I also mixed in a meat pasta sauce and made quesadillas with mozzarella. A definite repeat in this house!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
YUM! I made this tonight for dinner and I was in heaven! I love fresh vegetables, so while the zucchini was cooking, I added fresh chopped mushrooms, green pepper, onion & garlic. I used sauce & seasoning stated per recipe. I topped my Husbands with the mozzarela, but I topped mine with Reduced Fat Blue cheese crumbled. So, so, so delicious! I baked in foil as stated, then I opened the foil for 3 min. just to crisp up a little! Can't wait for the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
very good! added onions, garlic and bell peppers. didn't have rolls so made quesadillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good! I needed another recipe to use up the zucchini in our garden, and this proved to be a tasty option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steger, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I added some hot Italian sausage and used cheddar cheese it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I modified this a little - okay, a lot. I shredded the zucchini, shredded a carrot, and took the advice of another reviewer and added finely diced onion. Cooked in a pinch of butter and a bit of EVOO. Salted it and added a bit of minced garlic. Naturally, the moisture come out and it took about 15 min to cook out. Definitely let it brown in the pan - be patient. The onion, as it caramelized, brought my dish to a great new level. Oh so delish! And from here I diverge even farther from this recipe. I just put my finished mixture between a croissant - no spaghetti sauce or mozz. added - though I'm sure that would be tasty. To sum this all up, this is great and tasty recipe, just add some onion to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent! I used toasted sour dough bread and Parmesan cheese. didn't have mozzarella or Italian rolls. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Zucchini

There are lots of ways to use everyone's favorite summer squash.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States